Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game


Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Oh Snap! Cavalier with Staff of Power


Sovereign Court

I'll spare you the details. But my Cav got a staff of power, we have no arcane caster worth it to give it to. What should I do with it. I'm not sure selling it is what I want to do. Help!

RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Start putting points in Use Magic Device?

Multi-class into Bard/Magus/Sorcerer/Witch/Wizard?

Take Leadership and get a VERY grateful Bard/Magus/Sorcerer/Witch/Wizard cohort?

That leadership thing would work well in this case, wouldn't it?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Even if you put points in UMD to use the thing, you're not going to be able to put charges into it.


From your thread title, I thought you found some loophole that lets a cavalier survive a Retribution Strike (breaking the staff to unleash all it's power in an explosion) without the 50% chance of insta-destruction.

As for the actual topic at hand, if you don't want to sell it (or can't find someone who can afford it), you could do as has been suggested and invest in the leadership feat and get a very grateful caster cohort to use it... or you can be blissfully ignorant and annoy any casters you come across by using it as a walking stick and occasional back-scratcher, purely mundane usage, and nothing more.

Carve STFU into the side of it and hit people over the head with it (see: quarterstaff/club) whenever they get uppity and mouthy against you but you don't want to obliterate them.

Convert it into a pole to hold your Cavalier's Banner. While no mechanical benefit, it will make knowledgeable and powerful NPCs gawk wide-eyed at your casual (dangerous? careless? ignorant?) display of power (or misuse of power).

So yeah, if you want to gain a mechanical boon from it, leadership is your best bet, then selling it for the gold and investing that gold int something actually useful for you/your party, then investing in Use Magic Device as a far distant third. If however you accept that you will have a hard time getting a mechanical benefit from this item (or are able to not care about it), then embrace the mismatch and have fun with it. Use it in strange, weird, and fun ways that are all about style instead of substance. ^_^


Sovereign Court

Heh. I hadnt thought about the Ret. Strike when I wrote 'Oh Snap'. Well, I decided to go and pick up magus (got a huge exp boost from a Deck of Many Things). Now I just need help for the feats. Please keep in mind; Cav 1-3 is locked since those are in play already...

1)Cav: Wpn Finesse, Antagonize
2)Cav: ----
3)Cav: Dervish Dance
4)Cav: ----
1)Magus:Horse Master (keeping my mount relevant)
3)Magus: Wand wielder Arcana/Out Flank (to couple with Cav bonus feat Paired Opp)


RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Sounds good to me. Can't a Staff of Power also be used a +1 quarterstaff in a pinch?


The wielder of a staff of power gains a +2 luck bonus to AC and on saving throws. The staff is also a +2 quarterstaff, and its wielder may use it to smite opponents. If 1 charge is expended (a free action), the staff deals double damage (x3 on a critical hit) for 1 round.

That's a pretty solid weapon for a 7th level character.

How did you get the staff?

Sovereign Court

Shalafi2412 wrote:
How did you get the staff?

The GM ran a modified Castle Amber module (from way back)...

Pretty potent for a 6th level character. As a magus you should be able to use it right?

RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

It will at least be a really fun and exciting trump card. :-)

Sovereign Court

Another Question: I'm kind of already set up as Dervish Magus. Should I keep going that way, playing a generic Magus or should I get Staff Magi and maybe just pick up the Quarterstaff Master feat later?

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Advice / Oh Snap! Cavalier with Staff of Power All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2016 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.