Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Draw weapon as part of 5' step?


Rules Questions

Sczarni

Drawing a weapon is normally a move action. If your BAB is +1 or greater you can combine drawing a weapon with a regular move. Basically it becomes a 'free action'.

A 5' step is not a regular move so I presume you can still draw your weapon, but it will still cost a move action. Meaning only a single attack (standard action) or move equivalent action* can follow.

*if I'm reading it right you can still swap your standard action for a move action as long as you don't actually move any distance on account of having already taken a 5' step...

I'm making a switch ranger for PFS and I'm trying to determine how long I can prolong taking QuickDraw. If I've read and understand everything correctly I can put if off until I get my first iterative attack without really losing out on anything.

I'm playing a Switch Ranger/Horizon Walker in a home game and I took QuickDraw as my 1st level feat. It's been handy for sure, but I wouldn't call it essential. I may not even end up taking it. I figure I can take a wait & see approach.


Krodjin wrote:

Drawing a weapon is normally a move action. If your BAB is +1 or greater you can combine drawing a weapon with a regular move. Basically it becomes a 'free action'.

A 5' step is not a regular move so I presume you can still draw your weapon, but it will still cost a move action. Meaning only a single attack (standard action) or move equivalent action* can follow.

As our group plays and interprets it the drawing of a weapon is part of the regular move, but not necessarily a "Free Action". Also, we allow a PC to draw his weapon as part of a 5' step if he meets the other requirements.

If you are asking for how that plays in PFS it might be better to post your question in their topics. I don't follow PFS so I wouldn't know.

Just my 2 cp.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

A 5 ft step is not a regular move, so you can't do it.

If you move 5 ft with a regular move then you could do it.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

silverhair2008 wrote:

Also, we allow a PC to draw his weapon as part of a 5' step if he meets the other requirements.

If you are asking for how that plays in PFS it might be better to post your question in their topics. I don't follow PFS so I wouldn't know.

PFS runs things by the book, so the question is appropriate to ask here in the rules forum as it deals with published PFRPG rules. The PFS forums are for campaign-specific questions, not PFRPG rules questions.

Anyway, you can draw a weapon as a free action combined with a "regular move". The 5ft step is a special kind of movement, and therefore does not apply.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Draw weapon as part of 5' step? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.