Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Do Wizards / Alchemists Have To Buy Their Books?


Rules Questions


I was always under the impression that a wizard and alchemist started out with their 'books' for free, but if such is not the case, please let me know. :)

Thanks again.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Quote:
A wizard begins play with a spellbook containing all 0-level wizard spells (except those from his prohibited schools, if any; see Arcane Schools) plus three 1st-level spells of his choice. The wizard also selects a number of additional 1st-level spells equal to his Intelligence modifier to add to the spellbook. At each new wizard level, he gains two new spells of any spell level or levels that he can cast (based on his new wizard level) for his spellbook. At any time, a wizard can also add spells found in other wizards' spellbooks to his own (see Magic ).
Quote:
An alchemist may know any number of formulae. He stores his formulae in a special tome called a formula book. He must refer to this book whenever he prepares an extract but not when he consumes it. An alchemist begins play with two 1st-level formulae of his choice, plus a number of additional forumlae equal to his Intelligence modifier. At each new alchemist level, he gains one new formula of any level that he can create. An alchemist can also add formulae to his book just like a wizard adds spells to his spellbook, using the same costs, pages, and time requirements. An alchemist can study a wizard's spellbook to learn any formula that is equivalent to a spell the spellbook contains. A wizard, however, cannot learn spells from a formula book. An alchemist does not need to decipher arcane writings before copying them.


lol, yes...I know what the rules say :P

What I'm asking is this: does the 'begins play with' line imply that the wizard/alchemist already has their book (and thus they do not need to pay for it)?


I believe they start with it for free, which may be why they have a lower starting wealth on average. I cant point to a specific rule off hand but i seem to remember a developer posting that somewhere.

I was wondering about this for the cavalier's banner ability also, but not seeing a price for it until UE i just assume they automatically receive any class feature for free.

Grand Lodge

UE under wizard or magus kit entry specially says they start off with their books for free.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

It does a darn sight more than imply it. As a class ability, the wizard/alchemist "begins play" with the book, in the same way that a fighter gets a bonus feat, or a Druid may choose an animal companion, or a cavalier gets a mount. The cost of spell books is only when the first (free) one gets full.


sweet :) thanks for the help everyone.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

What about spell component pouches or holy symbols? I've never had my players pay for them unless they wanted spares (in short, characters ALWAYS start play with everything necessary to use their class abilities in our games).

Grand Lodge

Oddly enough RD...no you do not automatically start with those...so a wizard MUST spend the 5 GP for a component pouch unless they have no material spells. Same deal with holy symbols. If you look at the class kits in UE, those are listed as items in the starting kits for the classes you can buy.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Do Wizards / Alchemists Have To Buy Their Books? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.