Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Heighten Spell and additional metamagic feats


Rules Questions


7 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Staff response: no reply required. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

How exactly does Heighten Spell interact with other metamagic feats applied?

For example, we prepare a maximized fireball (6th), and we also want to slap on Heighten Spell as well.

1. If said spell is prepared in the 6th slot, does it behave like a 6th level spell? (Save DC, Punching through Globe of Invulnerability, etc)

2. Or does it require a higher spell slot on a 1-for-1 basis?
i.e. Said spell is maximized and heightened by 1 (7th), but behaves like a 4th level spell.


2 is correct. Heighten Spell increases the spell's effective level by the same number of levels that it increases the spell's slot.


That's what I derived as well. Otherwise, it would be nearly mandatory for those that want to fiddle with metamagic.

Scarab Sages

Actually, heighten spells are a level equal to the slot they take up. Rules are very clear on this. It's not +1 spell level for +1 spell slot.

This sucks for people with Magical Lineage or other ways of reducing the slot cost, but that's what the rules say.

The Exchange

ShakaUVM wrote:

Actually, heighten spells are a level equal to the slot they take up. Rules are very clear on this. It's not +1 spell level for +1 spell slot.

This sucks for people with Magical Lineage or other ways of reducing the slot cost, but that's what the rules say.

I honestly think this is what the rules say as well, but man we need a clarification on this.

Liberty's Edge

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.
Benrislove wrote:
ShakaUVM wrote:

Actually, heighten spells are a level equal to the slot they take up. Rules are very clear on this. It's not +1 spell level for +1 spell slot.

This sucks for people with Magical Lineage or other ways of reducing the slot cost, but that's what the rules say.

I honestly think this is what the rules say as well, but man we need a clarification on this.

This is how I usually read it as well, but I can see that RAI may have been the other way.

I prefer heighten to be "acts as a spell with a level equal to the level of slot it takes" for two reasons:
1) It prevents people from using Magical Lineage or other ways of reducing slot cost in order to, for example, cast what is treated as a 4th level spell from a 3rd level slot. That just feels weird-wrong to me. With spell perfection this could get really bad, theoretically casting something that is treated as a 9th level spell using a slot as low as 0 (though admittedly the effect itself would be weak). Maybe it wouldn't cause problems, but it still feels wrong. (Note that this allows a caster to cast a spell that is treated as a higher level than the others that they can cast.)
2) It allows metamagic users to get a tiny bit more bang for their buck (in general), which is something I think they could use. Essentially, it would allow them to tack on a slightly higher save DC for free when they tack on metamagic to make a spell better. Since adding metamagic to a spell is almost always worse than just casting a spell of that higher level (even with spell-level-based aspects discounted), I'm okay with this.


This seems to have gone on for a few years.

prd wrote:
A heightened spell has a higher spell level than normal (up to a maximum of 9th level). Unlike other metamagic feats, Heighten Spell actually increases the effective level of the spell that it modifies. All effects dependent on spell level (such as saving throw DCs and ability to penetrate a lesser globe of invulnerability) are calculated according to the heightened level. The heightened spell is as difficult to prepare and cast as a spell of its effective level.

Could we please get an official word on this one way or another?

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber

If you want to use heighten spell with another metamagic feat you apply it first.

Example: A fireball is heightened to say 5th level for a 2 point raise in DC. If you want to then Empower the fireball it would have to be prepared or cast in a 7th level slot it's spell save DC's would be calculated as that of a fifth level spell.


LazarX: Where does it say this? I haven't found it printed or FAQed anywhere.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Heighten Spell and additional metamagic feats All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.