Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Whips and how they work


Rules Questions

51 to 69 of 69 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

It is easier to just carry a dagger or wear a gauntlet for those circumstances...


KHShadowrunner wrote:
If tripping/sundering/disarming provokes attacks of opportunity, can you provoke an attack of opportunity off of an attack of opportunity?

Yes indeedily-do. Say d00d A attacks d00d B with a whip and provokes AoO from d00d B. d00d B uses his AoO to trip d00d A and provokes AoO from d00d A. d00d A uses his spiked gauntlet to resolve his AoO against d00d B who then resolves his trip attempt against d00d A who then resolves his whip attack against d00d B. If both parties have Combat Reflexes... it can get downright silly. But at least ninjas don't dodge heals in pathfinder...


Kazaan wrote:
If both parties have Combat Reflexes... it can get downright silly.

That is the funniest thing I have thought of in a long time.


or how about if it's non-lethal :(. Didn't even think of that. I did find it amusing to describe the feat.

"The poor halfing, feeling alone and left out in the world of slaughter" (this is actually how my game is going so far, I've killed all of one creature) "was given a blessing. A man, too weak to stay consious, has entered the fray. Stripped naked of all his belongings, the little one smiles with delight. A crack of the whip, no response. He takes aim, and strikes. The damage seems abysmal. A tiny scratch etches the man's arm. However, the sheer shock and might that a mere fool could cause so much pain, so much agony, to an unconscious naked individual was too much for the heart to bear. Although unable to feel, unable to see, unable to acknowledge, he bows his head, and retreats into the infinite night"


Wow... And here I thought my Halfling Gunslinger was bad...


I don't plan to kill anymore, life's a stage and I plan to dance. And hopefully show everyone else just how bad they dance. :)


Nice!


Use the whip to sunder their armor?


Kazaan wrote:
Use the whip to sunder their armor?

Is that even possible...


Azaelas Fayth wrote:
Kazaan wrote:
Use the whip to sunder their armor?
Is that even possible...

Possible yes. Feasible no. You can attempt to sunder with the whip, and you might hit, but the Str 3 prevents any damage from getting high enough to get through hardness. If later you enchanted the heck out of it... You still have a small chance. Especially without the sunder tree of feats, which start with power attack which requires 10 more Str than our halfling hero possesses. That being said, it'd be fun to watch a character swing a whip so hard they crack other weapons and armor. Maybe later in the campaign, when the players are more comfortable with the rules, you can fashion a whip out of a magical creature's hide and make it more dynamic. For example: Troll skin whip-as a swift action immediately after a successful trip attack, the wielder may cut the cord, leaving the tripped opponent entangled. The cut whip regrows in one full round, but must be crafted back into a usable whip, requiring a craft check DC 15 and one more full round.


Great now I want to make a Whip Fighter who sunders armour.


Azaelas Fayth wrote:
Kazaan wrote:
If both parties have Combat Reflexes... it can get downright silly.
That is the funniest thing I have thought of in a long time.

And it is also a good reason to disallow a character from making opportunity attacks during his own turn. I thought that was the rule in Pathfinder until I looked it up in the PRD and failed to find it.


David knott 242 wrote:
Azaelas Fayth wrote:
Kazaan wrote:
If both parties have Combat Reflexes... it can get downright silly.
That is the funniest thing I have thought of in a long time.

And it is also a good reason to disallow a character from making opportunity attacks during his own turn. I thought that was the rule in Pathfinder until I looked it up in the PRD and failed to find it.

Why? There are feats specifically designed so that you force your enemy to provoke an AoO to take advantage of. You'd basically invalidate those feats such such a rule.


What feats are those?


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

This idea of being able to take Attacks of Opportunity on your turn is false.

There is absolutely no RAW support for this view.

To even houserule this, destroys the usefulness of feats like Greater Trip, Vicious Stomp, and many others.


blackbloodtroll wrote:

This idea of being able to take Attacks of Opportunity on your turn is false.

There is absolutely no RAW support for this view.

To even houserule this, destroys the usefulness of feats like Greater Trip, Vicious Stomp, and many others.

Greater Trip and Vicious Stomp... brutal combo...


So wait, I'm back to confused again.

I assumed greater trip to account for an extra chance to attack if a trip is successful, I don't see how it actually has to do with AoOs on your turn (well, now that I've typed it out I kind of do).

Gonna take this to another thread as this is outside the bounds of just whips :).


Greater Trip makes it so "being tripped" provokes AoO and Vicious Stomp makes "falling prone" provoke AoO and a person being tripped does both. So, provided you have sufficient AoO through Combat Reflexes, you can get 2 AoO on a target after you trip them. Also, Snake Fang allows you to take an AoO if your target misses you; if you provoke an AoO from them, and it misses, that triggers an AoO from you. So say you have Snake Fang which allows you to make an AoO if your opponent misses and you provoke an AoO, say though movement. They take AoO and miss, you take AoO and trip them, the trip provokes another AoO from you and the falling prone provokes a third AoO from you. All on your turn. Throw in Panther Style with Panther Claw (presuming you're MoMS) and you get your retaliatory strike in there as well.


@Kazaan: I have a player who seen your post and is building a "Whip Trip Master"...

@KHShadowrunner: Got any other questions?

51 to 69 of 69 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Whips and how they work All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.