Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Clarification about Pathfinder Tales Boons


Pathfinder Society® General Discussion

Grand Lodge ***

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

According to the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play:

"Before or after the game session, simply show the Game Master your copy of the book (either a physical copy or a name-watermarked digital ePub or PDF) to gain a signature on your Chronicle sheet. You may apply copies of this Chronicle sheet to any of your player characters. Once you have a signed Chronicle sheet, it serves as proof of purchase, and you no longer need to bring a copy of the book with you as you would an Additional Resource."

I have a bit of confusion about how often one of these boons can be applied. The statement seems to indicate one sheet but it also mentions copies rather than a copy and characters rather than a character.

I thought that I read somewhere previously that you could apply these boons to each of your characters. Trying to advise one of my players and want to ensure that I give the correct answer.

Qadira ***

Watching this closely to be sure I have been doing this correctly. I also have read elsewhere that we can apply these boons to each of our characters. (and I have 10 of the Books now... waiting for my copy of Queen of Thorns...).
Blood of the City was great! Gives lots of background for Magnimar!

Qadira **

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules Subscriber

Yes, you can apply the boon to each character you have-once. If you have ten characters, you can print out ten copies of the sheet and apply the sheet to characters 1-10. Once character #1 uses the boon, though, you can't print out a new sheet and apply it to character # 1 a second time.

Qadira ***

but... when we get a judge to sign the sheet, can we copy that chronicle (the signed one) and apply it to a different PC, or does each copy of a chronicle have to have an original signature... basicly with 10 books, do I need to get some poor Judge to sign 20 chronicles to give each of my two PCs one, or just 10 and photocopy each?

Shadow Lodge ***** Venture-Captain, Michigan—Alma

I've got three of the books, and while I have yet to actually apply any of the chronicles to my characters, what I'm planning on doing is only applying the boons to the character I'm playing in that specific session. Doesn't seem to make sense if you play with one character and have your gm fill out sheets for characters he's never seen.

Qadira ***

Eric Clingenpeel wrote:
I've got three of the books, and while I have yet to actually apply any of the chronicles to my characters, what I'm planning on doing is only applying the boons to the character I'm playing in that specific session. Doesn't seem to make sense if you play with one character and have your gm fill out sheets for characters he's never seen.

so far, I just add one chronicle (or maybe two) to each PC as I am playing them. It is a bit of a hassle to bring 10 paperback novels to each game (as I don't know which PC I'll be playing, and each has a different set of chronicles added). That way I only bug each judge to sign one or two extra...

so far I have 52 done this way - only have 38 more to get done - except I'm adding a 10th PC, so that gives me another 10 chronicles to get signed and added.

Qadira **

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules Subscriber

There's nothing to say you couldn't, though. I personally try to wait until one of my local friends is running me in a game we're running at home and have them sign the chronicles. That way, it's not like I'm holding the GM or any other players up in a time sensitive situation.

Grand Lodge *** Venture-Captain, New Mexico—Alburquerque aka Digitalsabre

I must not have read that all the way through, then. I assumed that it was only one per book, not one per character per book.

Qadira **

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules Subscriber
Matthew Pemrich wrote:
I must not have read that all the way through, then. I assumed that it was only one per book, not one per character per book.

Will try to put a link in below....sometimes I can't get this right, we'll see ;)

This was clarified here

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / General Discussion / Clarification about Pathfinder Tales Boons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.