Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Can a Bladebound Magus enhance his chosen blade?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

So if you play a Bladebound Magus you get a magic sword for free. But say i want to enhance it - make it keen, tripping or something - can I use the Enhancement bonus from the ACF to give it diffent enhancements or can I can I only use my arcane pool?

And how about making the party wizard upgrade the item? Is that possible?


You also treat it as aarcane bound object like the wizards. So you can upgrade it yourself.

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Tales Subscriber

actually i thought it had already been resolved that do to a black blades unusual ego score progression and predetermined class level based skills it was not able to be enhanced or enchanted in the same way other intelligent items can be. although a magus may still apply arcane pool bonus.


Looks like a GM call.
Nothing indicates that you can't but since it's an independent intelligent item that increases in power on it's own as you level.. I'd go with no.


I would think that it can, but would increase its ego. So your weapon would control you if your not careful.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Can a Bladebound Magus enhance his chosen blade? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.