Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Not Getting XP in an adventure. What happens? What needs to happen?


Pathfinder Society® General Discussion

Grand Lodge

What needs to happen in a PFS scenario for me to not get XP?

If I beat everything up to the final encounter, does that mean I don't get the XP?

Do I still get to keep the GP and the PP I might have fulfilled and gotten throughout the adventure?

* Star Voter 2013

I believe it's the following:

If you complete a certain number(I think it's three) encounters, you will get experience for the session. You will get as much GP or PP up to the point you earned before the game stopped.

If you do not complete the required number of counters, you don't get a chronicle sheet. No XP, no GP, no PP, but you can play it again later because you haven't actually be counted as having played it.

****

Sean H wrote:
If you do not complete the required number of counters, you don't get a chronicle sheet. No XP, no GP, no PP, but you can play it again later because you haven't actually be counted as having played it.

No, you get a chronicle sheet, you just don't get anything on it. You're specifically not allowed to replay.

The Exchange ***** RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

And my understanding is something between the two of yours. (grin)

-- You get gold for every encounter you overcome.

-- You get prestige for your faction mission. It's *conceivable* that you could make the Venture Captain's mission with only two encounters, in some cases. If so, you get that prestige as well.

-- You earn 1 XP for overcoming at least three encounters.

So it is possible to get little dribbles of gold, and a faction prestige or two, and not earn any XP.

And Patrick's right. Once your PC hears the Venture Captain's briefing, you can never play that scenario again (for a Chronicle sheet).

*****

Chris Mortika wrote:

And my understanding is something between the two of yours. (grin)

-- You get gold for every encounter you overcome.

-- You get prestige for your faction mission. It's *conceivable* that you could make the Venture Captain's mission with only two encounters, in some cases. If so, you get that prestige as well.

-- You earn 1 XP for overcoming at least three encounters.

So it is possible to get little dribbles of gold, and a faction prestige or two, and not earn any XP.

And Patrick's right. Once your PC hears the Venture Captain's briefing, you can never play that scenario again (for a Chronicle sheet).

Chris is right, as far as I know. This means that it might be hypothetically possible to build up high amounts of Fame at a randomly low level, though in practice I've almost never seen this happen, so happening much more than once or twice in a PC's career would have to be the result of something intentional.

Scarab Sages *

Chris Mortika wrote:

-- You get prestige for your faction mission. It's *conceivable* that you could make the Venture Captain's mission with only two encounters, in some cases. If so, you get that prestige as well.

There is at least one scenario where a faction mission must be resolved before leaving the VC's office.

***** Venture-Lieutenant, Georgia—Atlanta aka CRobledo

Another +1 to Chris's assessment above. It has happened once to me at a table. It was a 7-11 table, got 0 xp, 0 pp (as my mission was done later) and we had to flee at the third encounter. Got around 1400 gp IIRC.

* Star Voter 2013

Huh. I stand corrected. I was under the impression that if you had to leave early before players really got into the scenario, you were given a pass. My bad.

EDIT: Ha, the edit button on my other post timed out! So much for fixing mistakes.

****

Sean H wrote:
Huh. I stand corrected. I was under the impression that if you had to leave early before players really got into the scenario, you were given a pass. My bad.

Well, expect some table variation. If you're just past the intro, and suddenly you go into labor, or you get a call that your house is burning down, or both, the GM might choose to let you slide. But the ruling is set up so that your character can't fail horribly at the first combat and then replay the scenario later. (Or, for that matter, flip off the VC and go whoring in Absalom.)

The Exchange ***** RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

Or, as Artanthos notes, fail your faction mission during the VC briefing, quit that session, and try again with a character with more appropriate skills.

These are corner cases. I don't know that there are a lot of people quitting adventures that early.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / General Discussion / Not Getting XP in an adventure. What happens? What needs to happen? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.