Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

How to check if Scenarios have been reported


Pathfinder Society GM Discussion

*

I just ran into an issue where it appears as the previous GM for a couple sessions didn't fill out his portion of the sheet correctly, and the player didn't catch it.

I have three First Step sheets, where the GM awarded 3XP per scenario. The first scenario, the player started with 0 fame/prestige, gained two, and ended with 5.

Later in the character's career...he played a L2 character in a Tier 4-5 game, which isn't allowed.

I'd like to check and see if these games were actually reported. Unfortunately, the GM also didn't fill out the Event or Event code.

Shadow Lodge ***** Venture-Captain, Michigan—Alma

GM Hands of Fate wrote:

Later in the character's career...he played a L2 character in a Tier 4-5 game, which isn't allowed.

The other part I can't really help out with, except to say you might want to have the player contact his VC so he can hopefully clear that up.

As for the quoted section, a level 2 PC can play up to sub-tier 4-5. As long as the PC is in the Tier of the scenario (1-5, since that's the only 4-5 sub-tier that I know of) he can play one sub-tier away. If he were third level and playing in a 1-7 tier scenario, he could play in sub-tiers 1-2, 3-4, or even 6-7 if that's how the APL went.

*

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

OK my understanding was that if the scenario was played at Tier 4-5, you could play it with Level 3-6 characters.

Thanks for the clarification.

I have suggested he get a hold of both the GM from the scenarios he played in as well as the VC to get this cleared up.

Shadow Lodge ***** Venture-Captain, Michigan—Alma

I'd suggest you re-read the Guide to Organized play. It looks like you're confusing the rules for playing in a Module with those for playing in a Scenario.

Andoran **** Venture-Captain, Washington—Seattle aka The Great Rinaldo!

Eric Clingenpeel wrote:
I'd suggest you re-read the Guide to Organized play. It looks like you're confusing the rules for playing in a Module with those for playing in a Scenario.

And it is possible the GM who awarded 3 xp for First Steps was doing the same, as (most) modules do award 3 xp.

*

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

GUys, thanks for the help, but I am having a debate with a fellow GM. We are looking at the text on page 32 of the guide

Quote:
Tiers are a level restriction for play. If a PC’s level does not fall within the level range of a scenario’s tier, that character can not legally play in that scenario. For example, a 5th-level PC is legal for play in scenarios of Tiers 1–5, 3–7, and 5–9; a 1st-level PC can only legally play in a Tier 1 or Tier 1–5 scenario. Within each tier, PCs should play in the subtier in which they fall whenever possible, but they may be allowed to play up or down, based on the average party level at the table, as outlined below. Some scenarios or special events offer more than two subtiers. In these cases, no PC can play at a subtier more than 1 step away from her character level.

The last line is where we are in contention. This sentence would seem to indicate that a Level 1 character could not play in a Subtier 3-4, even though the scenario is Tier 1-7. (Shipyard Rats)

Andoran *****

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Deluxe Comics Subscriber
Chris Manos wrote:
The last line is where we are in contention. This sentence would seem to indicate that a Level 1 character could not play in a Subtier 3-4, even though the scenario is Tier 1-7. (Shipyard Rats)

in a 1-7 game, the line "In these cases, no PC can play at a subtier more than 1 step away from her character level." allows a level 1 or 2 to play in sub-tier 3-4 (1 step away from sub-tier 1-2) but not in sub-tier 6-7 which is 2 steps away.

Do not forget you can only play out of sub-tier if the average level of the group allows it.

*

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

that is my understanding. Others disagree.

****

Well, they're wrong. It says "one step," not "one level."

Grand Lodge *****

Patrick Harris @ SD wrote:
Well, they're wrong. It says "one step," not "one level."

+1

It is "one step" not "one level".

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / Pathfinder Society GM Discussion / How to check if Scenarios have been reported All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.