Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Tripping a flying NPC


Rules Questions

Sczarni

The rules state if you attempt and succeed a trip attempt against a flying NPC the NPC loses 15 ft of altitude. If the NPC is simply hovering at ground level and is tripped will that cause them to fall to the ground prone?

If it does, would standing provoke an AoO or would the NPC be able to simply "float" back to a standing position with their weapons at the ready instead of having to roll over, get their feet under them / get to a knee, turn back around, etc.

If not, does the fly spell effectively grant the subject a fly speed and therefor allow them to take a 5-foot step during flight? If so, would it be possible for the flying NPC to be tripped, fall prone, and simply fly straight up 5 ft to escape their attacker(s) without provoking their death?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Corren28 wrote:
The rules state if you attempt and succeed a trip attempt against a flying NPC the NPC loses 15 ft of altitude.

Where? Page 201 says "Some creatures—such as oozes, creatures without legs, and flying creatures—cannot be tripped."


I think the "Tripping Flying Creatures" rule was present in 3.5, but for some reason, it didn't make it into PF.

Kinda of a shame, actually... It limits in-game options and makes it harder for people to realize that "Trip" is just the name of the mechanics, not necessarilly an actual trip.

Sczarni

o.O Really? They took that out? I'll be damned...

Sczarni

Ok, yea, I just went back and re-read the fly skill. It's if you get attacked while flying you have to make a fly check or lose 10 feet of altitude. I confused the two, my bad. :P

Thanks guys!


Lemmy wrote:
Kinda of a shame, actually... It limits in-game options and makes it harder for people to realize that "Trip" is just the name of the mechanics, not necessarily an actual trip.

It is an actual trip in PF. As SCMT just posted,"Some creatures—such as oozes, creatures without legs, and flying creatures—cannot be tripped."

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Tripping a flying NPC All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.