Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Chapter 2 Rules Question - Contains Spoilers


Shackled City Adventure Path


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Maps, Tales Subscriber

Quick rules question to throw out there, as I'd love to get other's impressions of this. We are playing with PF rules, so that could be where the disconnect is coming from.

Last Friday, The Uncalled Four took on Drakthar for the 3rd time. I (GM) decided to go with the wolf tactic, where in the book it states that Drakthar attempts to trip them, and then use pin to do his blood drain. He charged a member, had a successful bite attack, and then confirmed the trip with the CM.

I realized that next, since a trip doesn't give them the grappled condition, there was nothing stopping her from standing up during her turn (other than the AoO it would prompt). If she did, then he could attack/trip again, but that would need another 2 successful attacks. Then on his turn he could initiate a grapple, and on the turn following (assuming she didn't break the grapple) he could attempt to pin/drain her.

Am I missing something? This would seem like he would need 6 successful attack or CM rolls over the course of 3 rounds in order to do his Blood Drain! Best case, if she didn't attept to stand, it would be 4 rolls over 3 rounds.

Is there anything in RAW stating that tripping gives you the grappled condition, or that you can attept a pin without grappling first if a foe is prone? I was going to house rule that his trip initiated a grapple, thus making it just 3 checks over 2 rounds, but I'm always hesitant to make new rules just because it doesn't seem right...

It ended up becoming a moot point, as the group trashed him before he got back to his turn. However, I was curious what other people thought of this.

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

He can use the AoO from them getting up from prone to attempt to initiate the grapple, but otherwise you are correct.


If you have improved trip, you get to make an attack if you succeed.

Not sure if they gave him that though.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Older Products / Dungeon Magazine / Shackled City Adventure Path / Chapter 2 Rules Question - Contains Spoilers All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Shackled City Adventure Path

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.