Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

GM credit for tier 1-5 adventures: My character is level 3


Pathfinder Society GM Discussion

Cheliax *

So I'm going to be running a pathfinder society adventure tomorrow that is Tier 1-5. So it can either be run 1-2 or 4-5. My highest level PC is level 3.2, and I also have a 1.2 registered PC.

Am I allowed to used the chronicle sheet for my level 3 character if the session gets run as 4-5? Or would I have to use the 1-2 version on that character? Could I save the sheet until my primary character gets to level 4, or would I have to put it on my level 1 character since it is in the correct range for a 1-2 sheet?

Andoran *****

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Guide to Organized Play pg38 wrote:
The subtier for which a GM’s character receives credit depends on the character’s level. If a GM with a 1st-level rogue runs a Tier 1–5 scenario using Subtier 1–2, she takes a Subtier 1–2 Chronicle sheet for her 1st-level rogue. If she instead runs a Tier 1–5 scenario using Subtier 4–5, she still takes a Subtier 1–2 Chronicle sheet, as her PC clearly falls within the lower subtier.
Guide to Organized Play pg39 wrote:
Should a GM receive a Chronicle sheet that indicates her character is between subtiers (for example, if she runs a Tier 1–5 scenario with Subtiers 1–2 and 4–5 but has a 3rd- level character), she must always play down, taking a Chronicle sheet for the lower subtier. This rule is meant to balance the fact that the GM’s character does not have to expend any resources or risk death while gaining a Chronicle sheet for running a scenario.

Grand Lodge ***

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules Subscriber

So to be clear, you can apply the chronicle to either PC, but whether it's applied to the PC with 2 XP or the one with 8 XP, they will get the tier 1-2 rewards.

Cheliax *

Can I save the sheet until my level 3 character reaches level 4?

Andoran *****

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

No, unfortunately it will be applied to whatever character you choose immediately.

I'm not sure why you want to wait however.

Grand Lodge ***

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules Subscriber
TriOmegaZero wrote:
I'm not sure why you want to wait however.

Presumably to get the higher tier rewards, rather than effectively 'playing down'.

The only time you wait to apply GM credit is when the PC is out of tier for the scenario/module entirely.

Cheliax *

...it's frustrating that my character is going to get around 1,000 less gold because I chose to help out my local PFS group when they were low on GMs for an event instead of playing my PC like I was planning.

Andoran *****

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

You can always apply that chronicle to a brand-new PC and have your 3rd level character play up in games.

*

TriOmegaZero wrote:
No, unfortunately it will be applied to whatever character you choose immediately.

Or he can choose to not take his DM reward this time and run the game again in the future, when the circumstances are perfect for his to apply it the way he wants.

Unless you know something I don't and you have to take your DM chronicle the first time or else you can never get it (which I think is not the case).

Andoran *****

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

An excellent point, Caleth. I'm not sure how to go about it, but leaving the GM slot blank when reporting it should work.

Cheliax *

I think I'm just going to apply it my level 1 PC, and get them to level 2 and stay on track for wealth by level with my level 3 PC

*****

Victor Zajic wrote:
...it's frustrating that my character is going to get around 1,000 less gold because I choose to help out my local PFS group when they were low on GMs for an event instead of playing my PC like I was planning.

You actually aren't losing out on as much gold as you might think. Since you didn't play the scenario, you didn't have to use any resources. A single potion of fly is 1/3 of the gold you didn't get - not to mention all those charges from your wand of cure light wounds.

To get your character back "on track", just GM a couple more scenarios and apply the credit to that character. You'll soon have higher than average wealth.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / Pathfinder Society GM Discussion / GM credit for tier 1-5 adventures: My character is level 3 All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.