Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Incorporeal Spellcasters and Spell Components


Rules Questions

Qadira

There may be something I missed, but if a spellcaster becomes a ghost (or otherwise becomes incorporeal)....

....can they cast spells that require material components?

I know that they are essentially "stuck" with the last set of spells they memorized/prayed for before they died. Did their spell components become part of their ghostly self and would they be rejuvenated?

Qadira

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Maps, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

It makes sense that they would. I would expect a ghostly warrior to still have his armor and weapons. Why not a spellcaster?

Really, though, this question belongs in the Rules Questions forum rather than the PFS forum.

Qadira

oops, you're right.. it got moved... like MAGIC!

would they be able to cast those spells just once? spell components are essentially used up after they are consumed (like a potion or a scroll) and basically turn into nothingness by the energies used to create the spell effect.

So how could a spellcaster's ghost cast spells that require material components more than once after dying?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Magic

In all seriousness, you're over thinking this. Ghosts rejuvenate when destroyed and thus would probably "reset" everyday. So there's your answer.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Incorporeal Spellcasters and Spell Components All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.