Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Gm Dawn of the Scarlet Sun


Pathfinder Society GM Discussion

*** Venture-Lieutenant, Spain—Madrid

If you GM Dawn of the Scarlet Sun you get absolutely ALL items of the chronicle?

Grand Lodge ****

You don't *get* them, but you do get *access* to them, and can buy them if you want them. You also get full gold and prestige for the level your character is (the one you are applying the Chronicle to).

Cheliax ****

No you get all the items on the left side and then the PCs get to pick a extra item off of the right side if they slay the boss.

Shadow Lodge *** Venture-Lieutenant, California—Silicon Valley aka JohnF

To expand slightly and summarize (and to avoid misunderstandings):

The first entry on the chronicle sheet depends on a certain condition being met; if that is not the case, simply cross off that entry.

There is no such condition on the second entry - everybody gets it. For the remaining items:

Each player, and the GM, gets a chronicle with all the items in the left column, and one item from the right column. The choice of which item to pick from the right column can be different for different players (including the GM), but the choice must be made at the time the chronicle is handed out.

Edit - left this off: And, like all chronicles, they merely grant access to items. If you want the items, you still have to purchase them.

****

I contend that the GM should get the first item only if the party doesn't, and vice versa. ;p

***

Keep in mind that with the Free RPG Day Modules (including Dawn of the Scarlet Sun), players and GMs only receive 1 Prestige Point.

***** Venture-Lieutenant, Georgia—Atlanta aka CRobledo

If we are talking about the boons at the top and not the items, please keep in mind:

4.2 Guide:
The GM may select any special boons bestowed by a Chronicle sheet, such as free magical treasure, regional boons, or future bonus die rolls.

Meaning you may cross off any boons you don't want.

*** Venture-Lieutenant, Spain—Madrid

Ok, thank you everyone for your answers.

But now I have a new question:

Can I choose an item of the right column even if the PCs don´t slay the boss?

Qadira ***** RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

Yes.

Put in broad terms, the bonuses of GM credit never depend on the particular success or failure of the party during the instance of play. The GM has no dog in the fight. (Patrick posts amusing, light-hearted comments, but he has a habit of posting deliberately unhelpful "advice".)

For that matter, if the party get their butts kicked and leave the adventure before earning an experience point, the GM still gets full value on her GM-credit Chronicle.

***** Venture-Lieutenant, Georgia—Atlanta aka CRobledo

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Correct. You could say the GM gets the chronicle when he begins the scenario rather than the end.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / Pathfinder Society GM Discussion / Gm Dawn of the Scarlet Sun All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society GM Discussion

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.