Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Sneak Attacking With Other Weapons


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion Subscriber

I was wondering if the sneak attack feature may be used with weapons that aren't light and aren't rapiers. I thought that was the case, but looking at the SRD again seems to have removed that stipulation. I'm confused now. If I wanted to play, say, a Low Templar that wasn't originally a rogue, could I sneak attack with a longsword? Or am I basically limited to rapiers, short swords, and the like?


They work with all weapons and were never restrict to light weapons.

Sczarni

You can sneak attack with anything. The stipulation is that you cannot use a lethal weapon to deal non-lethal damage AND get sneak attack damage. E.g., using a dagger to deal subdual with a -4 does NOT net you sneak attack.

Light weapons and rapiers are typically used because they are valid weapons for the weapon finesse feat and result in lower penalties for TWF. Rapiers are especially used for their greater crit range. Even if you can't confirm the crit, an 18 is an automatic hit with a rapier, and that range widens with the proper feats or enhancements.

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion Subscriber
concerro wrote:
They work with all weapons and were never restrict to light weapons.

Weird. Why was I thinking they were? *confused*


Corren28 wrote:
Even if you can't confirm the crit, an 18 is an automatic hit with a rapier.

NO.


an 18 is not an auto-hit. only a 20 is auto-hit.
if your critical threat range is larger, you can crit more, but you still need to hit the AC first.


Increased Threat Range

Sometimes your threat range is greater than 20. That is, you can score a threat on a lower number. In such cases, a roll of lower than 20 is not an automatic hit. Any attack roll that doesn't result in a hit is not a threat.

Sczarni

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Quote:
Increased Threat Range Sometimes your threat range is greater than 20. That is, you can score a threat on a lower number. In such cases, a roll of lower than 20 is not an automatic hit.

See how you guys are? Gonna make me go and read and learns stuff and eat my own words.

I stand corrected. :P


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Corren28 wrote:
I stand corrected. :P

Ya, but you deserve props for actually accepting it like a BOSS.


like a SIR!


Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
concerro wrote:
They work with all weapons and were never restrict to light weapons.

Woot!

The Gamemaster wrote:
You're going to backstab him with a ballista?
Nimble the Thief wrote:
Uh huh.
The Gamemaster wrote:
With a f@(#ing siege weapon?
Nimble the Thief wrote:
Uh huh.

I have to go watch The Gamers again now.

Grand Lodge

Yes, you may sneak attack with a siege weapon. Provided the target is within 30 feet. I'm curious how this is managed with a catapult... :p


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

You can sneak attack with a boulder.

This means Giant Rogues can sneak attack with a thrown boulder within 30ft.


A sneak attack with a boulder seems just normla to me, after all yu do not need to targett a vital spot if you can target the entire body :)

Lantern Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

isn´t there a monster feat for better sneaking when you are large?


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Nightstalker. Ignore all size penalties to stealth.

Combined with Hellcat Stealth, you can have a Stone Giant that hides right next to you.


That makes me think about 3.0 when they introduced monsters with class levels and there was this shadowdragon/rogue who used to sneak up to people and sneak attack them.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Modules Subscriber
Umbranus wrote:
That makes me think about 3.0 when they introduced monsters with class levels and there was this shadowdragon/rogue who used to sneak up to people and sneak attack them.

I must have missed that one.

I still remember, however, the Black Dragon with Assassin levels in 3.5.

Invisibility + Stealth + True Strike + Power Attack + Sneak Attack + Death Attack = OMFG!!


Some call me Tim wrote:
concerro wrote:
They work with all weapons and were never restrict to light weapons.

Woot!

The Gamemaster wrote:
You're going to backstab him with a ballista?
Nimble the Thief wrote:
Uh huh.
The Gamemaster wrote:
With a f@(#ing siege weapon?
Nimble the Thief wrote:
Uh huh.
I have to go watch The Gamers again now.

Because dere's no kill liek OVAHKILL!

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Dust Raven wrote:
Yes, you may sneak attack with a siege weapon. Provided the target is within 30 feet. I'm curious how this is managed with a catapult... :p

Just get Sniper's Goggles.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Sneak Attacking With Other Weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.