Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Stacking size bonus


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Ok, long story short, one of my players is trying to use Frightful Aspect, and righteous might together to increase his size to huge. He claims that one turns him large (Frightful Aspect) while Righteous Might increases you to the next size category.

I only ask because I was almost positive stacking magical size bonuses was a huge no-no. But he says that only Transmutation (polymorph) effects that increase size don't stack.

Thoughts?


draykhar wrote:

Ok, long story short, one of my players is trying to use Frightful Aspect, and righteous might together to increase his size to huge. He claims that one turns him large (Frightful Aspect) while Righteous Might increases you to the next size category.

I only ask because I was almost positive stacking magical size bonuses was a huge no-no. But he says that only Transmutation (polymorph) effects that increase size don't stack.

Thoughts?

It might help discussion if link to these effects.

Righteous Might (not a polymorph effect) says:
"Your height immediately doubles, and your weight increases by a factor of eight. This increase changes your size category to the next larger one" Not just large size.

So Righteous Might 's size stacks with everything even, Enlarge person.
The size bonuses don't stack, but your reach/Weapon size will increase.

The order matters.
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/f/frightful-aspect
Frightful Aspect (a Polymorph Effect) is always just large size. It says so.

Frightful Aspect then Righteous Might wil be Huge size with a +6 size bonus to Strength, a +4 size bonus to Constitution, -2 Dex penalty, a +6 natural armor bonus, DR 10/magic and DR 5/evil, and spell resistance equal to 10 + half your caster level.

Now the Magic section says for Polymorpohj spells:

Quote:


You can only be affected by one polymorph spell at a time. If a new polymorph spell is cast on you (or you activate a polymorph effect, such as wild shape), you can decide whether or not to allow it to affect you, taking the place of the old spell. In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell.

So it might be referring to other polymorph spells.


Starbuck_II:

CRB p212 Polymorph Section wrote:
In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell.
CRB p278 Enlarge Person wrote:
Multiple magical effects that increase size do not stack.
CRB p335 Righteous Might wrote:
Magical effects that increase size do not stack.

So, you cannot stack any of these effects together.

Frightful Aspect is a polymorph effect. Polymorph effects do not stack with other size change spells, they do not have to be polymorph spells.

Righteous Might and Enlarge Person do not stack with ANY magical size changes this would include Frightful Aspect.

- Gauss

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Stacking size bonus All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.