Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Tiefling Heritages...


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I an wondering what all gets kept I you are using one of the 10 alternate Tiefling Heritages...


The heritages replace specific items (skilled bonus, spell-like ability, and base stats). All other things remain the same.


And do they need the heritage feat? Or are they a straight swop?

And if so, is it that the heritage feat gets you the other odd abilites from the random table? Or is it that you're supposed to roll randomly, but the feat lets you choose?

Because I couldn't figure it out, and so my Tiefling is pretty vanilla, which seems to have missed the point. :)

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Thanks Serisan... that was what I was thinking, but the wording at the chapter header is a little 'odd'...

Thornborn, if it is a PFS character you can't use the random extra abilities table. If it is for a home game, ask your DM...


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

For PFS Tieflings no longer need to take the Eldritch heritage feat to have a heritage - they are now PFS legal options (assuming you as a player own the arg or blood of fiends or both). Same thing for the Aasimars.

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Just to double check...

Demon-spawn, Div-Spawn, Rakshasa-spawn all still have Fiendish Sorcery, corrrect?

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Lest there be any confusion, let's clarify something:

There are two different books that have tiefling heritages in them: Bastards of Erebus, and Blood of Fiends. They are different. The ones from Bastards of Erebus require a feat, while the ones from Blood of Fiends do not. The ones from Blood of Fiends are PFS legal, while the ones from Bastards of Erebus are not.

So, Tempest_Knight, which heritages are you looking at? Which book do you have?

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Blood of Fiends (and Blood of Angels)


Wait. Is the only difference the feat requirement? On the PRD, I think it must be using the one from Erebus.

Grand Lodge

The two traits at the bottom of each heritage are race traits. You normally get two traits to choose from upon character creation. So just like an elf taking warrior of old you can take one of these traits if you take that heritage. All the reast of the race features listed above that replace "all" the other (traits/race features) of the original teiflings.

Shadow Lodge Contributor, RPG Superstar 2010 Top 8

RipfangOmen wrote:
Wait. Is the only difference the feat requirement? On the PRD, I think it must be using the one from Erebus.

No, the Skilled variants are also new.

The heritages from Bastard's of Erebus didn't change the Tiefling's skill bonuses, while the heritages in Blood of Fiends do.

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

So... It swaps out the Ability score modifiers, Skills, and Spell-like ability, and keeps the rest of the Tiefling Racial Traits?


Tempest_Knight wrote:
So... It swaps out the Ability score modifiers, Skills, and Spell-like ability, and keeps the rest of the Tiefling Racial Traits?

yep. you still have fiendish sorcerery, the outsider type and all relevant goodies, and the option to make substitutions, such as taking a prehensile tail.

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

... effective Cha 22 sorcerer... should be fun... now, how to make it actually survivable and usable...


Though if you're one of the other kinds of tiefling, say a beastbrood (rakshasa-spawn), the Fiendish Heritage isn't going to do you a lot of good since it only applies to sorcs with the Abyssal or Infernal bloodlines. The rakshasa sorcerer bloodline appears in Ultimate Magic.

But the beastbrood variant tiefling has a CHA bonus, not a penalty, so you still come out with a higher effective CHA score than an abyss tiefling that takes the abyssal bloodline.


Wolf Munroe wrote:

Though if you're one of the other kinds of tiefling, say a beastbrood (rakshasa-spawn), the Fiendish Heritage isn't going to do you a lot of good since it only applies to sorcs with the Abyssal or Infernal bloodlines. The rakshasa sorcerer bloodline appears in Ultimate Magic.

But the beastbrood variant tiefling has a CHA bonus, not a penalty, so you still come out with a higher effective CHA score than an abyss tiefling that takes the abyssal bloodline.

a beastbrood tiefling can still take the abyssal or infernal bloodlines just fine.

Cheliax

Or the improved fiendish sorcery feat in blood of fiends that adds shadow and rakshasa bloodlines to that list

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Tiefling Heritages... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.