Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Legalistic Oracle curse questions


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion Subscriber

I have a few questions about the Legalistic curse from Blood of Fiends.

First, the text of the curse:

Legalistic: The shackles of Hell impose savage consequences should you violate a covenant, but also imbue you with remarkable guile. Whenever you break your word (either purposefully or unintentionally), you become sickened for 24 hours or until you meet your obligation, whichever comes first. However, once per day, you can make a vow to yourself that grants a +4 morale bonus on any one roll you make while trying to fulfill a promise made to another individual. At 5th level, you gain a +3 competence bonus on Diplomacy, Intimidate, and Sense Motive checks while talking to an individual one-on-one. At 10th level, you can make a new saving throw each minute to resist mind-affecting effects as your subconscious searches for loopholes. At 15th level, any creature that violates its freely given word to you takes a penalty to AC, to spell resistance, and on saving throws against your attacks and abilities equal to your Charisma modifier (minimum 1) for 24 hours.

First and foremost, does lying outright count as breaking one's word, thus making the character sickened anytime they use bluff to lie?

Secondly, if the cursed character in question makes certain promises every day to a deity (thus giving the deity their word to fulfill these promises), can they gain the +4 bonus while trying to uphold one of those promises? As an example, say I promise Sarenrae that I shall not inflict lethal harm to any humanoid creature, would I be able to make a vow to myself to then increase an attack roll against a humanoid target, as long as I am doing so in a nonlethal attack?

Finally, the text says any single roll, that includes damage rolls right?


Any single roll would include damage rolls.

Swearing oaths and making promises to a deity would be okay in my table, but I am not sure if that is the answer you seek. You need to give your word in order to break it, so lying outright will not always give you that penalty. I'd say it depends on what exactly is it that you are lying about.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Legalistic Oracle curse questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.