Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

When does a Hexcrafter Magus get the curse spells?


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

Building a Hexcrafter Magus for PFS. One element of the hexcrafter is the following:
"A hexcrafter magus adds the following spells to his magus spell list: bestow curse, major curse, and all other spells of 6th level or lower that have the curse descriptor."

My questions is, when do those become available. At level 1, or at level 4 when the hexcrafter archetype "kicks in"? I ask because of the Brand cantrip (which is a curse), which seems like a less cheesy Arcane Mark, since it actually does do damage. Would like to take it at level 1. Legal?


You have them at whatever level you would normally get spells of that level as I read it, and you get them at the lowest level they would be available, i.e one that is cleric 2, bard 1, witch 1, would be a 1st level spell. You still have to learn/select them normally to add to your spellbook tho, they're just extra choices.


At 4th level you gain the hexes.

The other stuff you either get at the level specified or if there's no level given, then it's active from 1st level. (you have to decide on an archetype at 1st level in that class)

So yes, the spells are on your class list. You don't automatically know them though. Can learn them from scrolls of course or as your free spells. (in the case of cantrips of course you'd know them all)

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber

Archetypes "kick in" at first level. So you would get that spells when you can cast spells of the applicable levels.

Grand Lodge

Great thanks. And just to clarify, since Brand is a cantrip, and a Magus starts with all cantrips in his book, then I get it to start?

Sovereign Court Star Voter 2013

Hmmm, if you read that sentence well you can see:

"A hexcrafter magus adds the following spells to his magus spell list: bestow curse, major curse, and all other spells of 6th level or lower that have the curse descriptor."

That just means that he can cast these spells if he chooses to learn them. So you get access to those spells as soon as you decide to learn them. By learning them on a scroll or on a spellbook, or with one of the bonus spell you learn at each level.

Grand Lodge

Bristor Gwin wrote:
Great thanks. And just to clarify, since Brand is a cantrip, and a Magus starts with all cantrips in his book, then I get it to start?

Where does it say Brand is a Curse? It's not in the spell name or the descriptive text for the spell. Curses are typically necromancy where as brand is transmutation. If you just want a less cheesy arcane mark use the Light Spell. It is also range touch and can actually do useful things like making the winged monster easy to see as it flys around in the dark.


Brand:
School transmutation [curse];

It carries the curse descriptor.

Scarab Sages

Darkorin wrote:

Hmmm, if you read that sentence well you can see:

"A hexcrafter magus adds the following spells to his magus spell list: bestow curse, major curse, and all other spells of 6th level or lower that have the curse descriptor."

That just means that he can cast these spells if he chooses to learn them. So you get access to those spells as soon as you decide to learn them. By learning them on a scroll or on a spellbook, or with one of the bonus spell you learn at each level.

Well, this is why I raised the question, because the magus class text reads: "A magus begins play with a spellbook containing all 0-level magus spells . . ." and then the hexcrafter "adds the following spells to his magus spell list: bestow curse, major curse, and all other spells of 6th level or lower that have the curse descriptor," then it's seem one interpretation is yours and the other is that since the hexcrafter adds all those spells to the magus list, then a 1st level hexcrafter would have Brand in their spellbook. It wasn't a lack of careful reading.

And Massive P, the descriptors were added in Ultimate Magic I believe. The idea for this comes from STR Ranger's Hexcrafter guide.


Yes, you know Brand.

Sovereign Court Star Voter 2013

Yes you know brand since it's a cantrip, and it's on your spell list.


LazarX wrote:
Archetypes "kick in" at first level. So you would get that spells when you can cast spells of the applicable levels.

WOAH WOAH woah..

Does that mean the Hexcrafter Magus can spend a feat slot on the "Extra Hex" feat before he gets his first official Hex?


beej67 wrote:


Does that mean the Hexcrafter Magus can spend a feat slot on the "Extra Hex" feat before he gets his first official Hex?

No, for multiple reasons.


Glad to see people using my guide.
;)

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / When does a Hexcrafter Magus get the curse spells? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.