Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game


Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Quick Question About Versatile Performer / Haunting Refrain

Rules Questions

I think I know the answer, but I want to be absolutely sure and have the answer out there to show my GM in case he disagrees with me:

When you use Versatile Performer (or the Dirge Bard's Haunting Refrain) to roll an instrument-based Perform check in place of some other skill, do you need to actually play the instrument in question?

Specific example:

If I use Haunting Refrain to demoralize someone, do I need to be sitting at a piano to roll Perform(Keyboards) instead of Intimidate?

No. You use the bonuses associated with that perform skill in place of the bonuses usually associated with that skill, but you're not actually using that perform skill. It would make for a pretty crippling tell if every lie you told was in song.

You don't actually Perform to use versatile performance, you simply use those total ranks for your bluff check or whatever.

Also, here's a James Jacobs response that answers a likely follow-up question about what skill bonuses get taken into account.

Thanks, I pretty much knew that was the answer, but it was great to have others proclaim it and have a link from James Jacobs, just in case I hear, "You can't demoralize them without a piano."

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Quick Question About Versatile Performer / Haunting Refrain All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2016 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.