Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Adding a cleric spell to a wizard list


Advice

Shadow Lodge

Hello, I am looking for a way to add the spell Command to my Enchanters spell list. Is there any way to do this? My Search-Fu has revealed nothing. Magic items, feats, special abilities? Any help would be appreciated.


IIRC, you cannot add Divine Spells to an Arcane Spell list, and vice-versa.

If the spell is castable by both sorcerers/wizards and clerics, then there is an Arcane version of the spell, of which is the kind you must obtain in order to use it as per a spell on your list.

Silver Crusade

Maybe a staff with command and another spell you know on it?
Wand of command + UMD + staff-like wand.
Page of spell knowledge(?).
You could always be a mystic theurge (not recommended).


Research a brand new arcane spell with the same effects? All you need is a sympathetic DM.

PRD wrote:
Independent Research: A wizard can also research a spell independently, duplicating an existing spell or creating an entirely new one. The cost to research a new spell, and the time required, are left up to GM discretion, but it should probably take at least 1 week and cost at least 1,000 gp per level of the spell to be researched. This should also require a number of Spellcraft and Knowledge (arcana) checks.


There are three main ways to get a spell from another spell list onto yours.

Samsaran (race): The spell list you steal the spell from must be the same type (arcane or divine) as your spell list. Command is on the Witch's (arcane) spell list so you can do this.

Improved Eldritch Heritage <Arcane> (feat): This will only allow you to steal from the Sorcerer/Wizard spell list to add to your spell list. Since you are a Wizard this will not help you.

Ancient Lorekeeper (Elven Oracle Archetype): This allows you to add Sorcerer/Wizard spells to you Oracle spell list. Not helpful.

Unfortuntely, I think you are out of luck.

BUT there is hope, Riuken suggested a reasonable method. Get a Staff with the spell Command on it. Have another spell on it that is on your spell list. Then you can use Command at your caster level and with all relevant feats and ability score modifiers.

- Gauss


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

There is the pathfinder savant.


A wand of it would be your best bet. The wand would be nerfed unless you got some class skills to make it impressive. I am having my oracle that has magical heritage on murderous command that uses extend on it get one level of fey sorc, for the +2 dc to it.


Limited Wish?

Admittedly a level 7 wizard spell to duplicate a level 1 cleric spell is perhaps over the top.


If your GM allows 3.0/3.5 feats there was a feat that allowed arcane caster to select single domain and adding spells from that domain to one of the character's arcane class spell lists. Devil subdomain has command spell.


The general guidelines for researching spells is to try to maintain the general distinction between arcane and divine magic. In some cases that might be interpreted by a GM as the spell not being possible, but usually it means the spell can be researched, but it becomes a higher level spell for the "other" type of magic.

So "command" researched as a wizard spell might be a second level spell instead of first. That's how I would rule as GM.

Shadow Lodge

Thanks all. I figured it was a long shot. Unfortunately it is a Society character so spell research is out. I may in fact buy a staff of rigor or take a few levels of pathfinder savant. I am not big on the latter and it sucks to wait til 6th level (when I have enough prestige) on the former though. Oh well, my enchanter will just have to do without.

Does anyone know if a ring of spell knowledge could do this?
I am a wizard 2 sorcerer 1 and though the item says it is only useful for spontaneous spell casters, does that mean it can be used by no one else?
Can I use it to add command to my spell list and then roll a spell craft to put it into my book (where all my real skill is)?

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Advice / Adding a cleric spell to a wizard list All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.