Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Some questions about after-game wrapup


Pathfinder Society GM Discussion

Grand Lodge ** Venture-Captain, Germany—Düsseldorf aka TerrorTigr

Hi there!

A couple of things that I ran into/thought of when reporting my first session:

a) What's the "Scenario Chronicle #" in the top right of a Chronicle sheet?

b) People (might) get 2 PP for their first scenario. So now they can get any one item for 750gp or less right after the end of the first scenario, is that correct? Wand of Cure Light Wounds, I'm looking right at you.

c) Totally related to the above question: On the Chronicle I use for my GM Credit, I sign everything myself, right? No other GM needs to sign what I sold/purchased?

d) And again for the GM Credit: Do I mark that Chronicle as a GM Credit chronicle or is it enough that the reporting system knows it is? If I do: how?

e) Hypothetical: If a player was to contract a disease ingame, but the disease doesn't "onset" before the end of the scenario, can she still use a scroll of remove disease found during the scenario to try and get rid of the disease before I write the chronicle? Do I put it in conditions gained and conditions lost, in that case, or just omit it entirely? Just to be clear: In my example, the player uses a scroll found during play, she does not pay pp or gp to have the disease removed.

Thanks a lot!

Silver Crusade *

Oh yes, I have many of the same questions. :)

Grand Lodge **

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules Subscriber
Marcus Gföller wrote:
a) What's the "Scenario Chronicle #" in the top right of a Chronicle sheet?

Put '1' on the PC's first one, '2' on the second one, etc. so you can keep them in the right order.

Marcus Gföller wrote:
b) People (might) get 2 PP for their first scenario. So now they can get any one item for 750gp or less right after the end of the first scenario, is that correct? Wand of Cure Light Wounds, I'm looking right at you.

Correct; it's very common.

Marcus Gföller wrote:
c) Totally related to the above question: On the Chronicle I use for my GM Credit, I sign everything myself, right? No other GM needs to sign what I sold/purchased?

Correct.

Marcus Gföller wrote:
d) And again for the GM Credit: Do I mark that Chronicle as a GM Credit chronicle or is it enough that the reporting system knows it is? If I do: how?

No special action needed. The sheet will have the same PFS number at the top and the bottom.

Marcus Gföller wrote:
e) Hypothetical: If a player was to contract a disease ingame, but the disease doesn't "onset" before the end of the scenario, can she still use a scroll of remove disease found during the scenario to try and get rid of the disease before I write the chronicle? Do I put it in conditions gained and conditions lost, in that case, or just omit it entirely? Just to be clear: In my example, the player uses a scroll found during play, she does not pay pp or gp to have the disease removed.

Any scrolls found during play can be used before the end of the scenario without repercussions. In general, diseases etc. should be cleared before the end of the session (often done by rolling them out until the PC makes the necessary save(s)).

*

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Marcus Gföller wrote:


a) What's the "Scenario Chronicle #" in the top right of a Chronicle sheet?

The player fills that in; it's the numerical order of the Chronicles which that character has received. A character's first Chronicle sheet is #1, their second is #2, etc. (Some players use whole numbers for adventure chronicles, and "decimal numbers", such as 1.1, 1.2, etc. for non-adventure chronicles, such as boons.)

Marcus Gföller wrote:
b) People (might) get 2 PP for their first scenario. So now they can get any one item for 750gp or less right after the end of the first scenario, is that correct? Wand of Cure Light Wounds, I'm looking right at you.

Absolutely correct.

Marcus Gföller wrote:
c) Totally related to the above question: On the Chronicle I use for my GM Credit, I sign everything myself, right? No other GM needs to sign what I sold/purchased?

Yes, you can sign it yourself (if you're running for a home game, you really have no choice, after all). If you're running at a con or game day, your event organizer might want to sign your GM chronicle.

Marcus Gföller wrote:
d) And again for the GM Credit: Do I mark that Chronicle as a GM Credit chronicle or is it enough that the reporting system knows it is? If I do: how?

From your character's standpoint, it makes no difference, and I don't think you need to note that it was earned as a GM.

Marcus Gföller wrote:
e) Hypothetical: If a player was to contract a disease ingame, but the disease doesn't "onset" before the end of the scenario, can she still use a scroll of remove disease found during the scenario to try and get rid of the disease before I write the chronicle? Do I put it in conditions gained and conditions lost, in that case, or just omit it entirely? Just to be clear: In my example, the player uses a scroll found during play, she does not pay pp or gp to have the disease removed.

Not sure on that one.

Grand Lodge ** Venture-Captain, Germany—Düsseldorf aka TerrorTigr

Paz wrote:
Marcus Gföller wrote:
e) Hypothetical: If a player was to contract a disease ingame, but the disease doesn't "onset" before the end of the scenario, can she still use a scroll of remove disease found during the scenario to try and get rid of the disease before I write the chronicle? Do I put it in conditions gained and conditions lost, in that case, or just omit it entirely? Just to be clear: In my example, the player uses a scroll found during play, she does not pay pp or gp to have the disease removed.
Any scrolls found during play can be used before the end of the scenario without repercussions. In general, diseases etc. should be cleared before the end of the session (often done by rolling them out until the PC makes the necessary save(s)).

Thank you, Paz!

Wait, if a player catches a disease in the last encounter of a scenario, say, something that drains DEX, then I can just let him roll saves until he gets one right? And then we assume that, until the next scenario, enough time passes for the ability score damage to heal?

If so, then that means the only point at which a player would have to pay to heal a disease/poison after the end of the scenario would be if it's on CON and he risks going below 1. Then he'd roll saves until he's at CON 1 and, at that point, would buy a spell/scroll to not risk dying, is that right?

Can another party member use the Heal skill to help him on the saves?

****

Here is a summary, based on my understanding. The guide to organized play covers this topic fairly well.

Note that the guide isn't entirely self-consistent due to the fact that afflictions used to be able to persist between scenarios and some of the old language was left intact, but I believe the below quote is what it all comes down to.

Guide 4.2 wrote:
Any diseases or afflictions a PC has obtained must be resolved at the table once the game ends as explained in Chapter 5 of this document.

* Even if a disease is doing non-Con ability damage you can't just hand-waive it.

* The GM determines when the scenario ends; they are not required to sit around for 30 minutes waiting for the player to roll their saves. It is polite though to at least give the player some chance to roll it before requiring them to pay up for spellcasting services (through gold or prestige) to resolve it. Note that caster-level checks for remove disease and other spells are not waived.

Guide 4.2 wrote:
All diseases must be resolved at the table. The character will either be cured or dead. Diseases which result in a character’s ability score (aside from Constitution) being reduced to 0 must be cured or the character will become unplayable. An unplayable character should be marked as dead when reporting the session.

Any ability damage can be assumed to heal before the next scenario, assuming the affliction that caused it has been resolved.

Taldor *** Venture-Captain, Oklahoma—Tulsa aka Rob Duncan

Diseases which result in a character’s ability score (aside from Constitution) being reduced to 0

I read this as a condition precedent:

1) Did you contract a disease?
a) No! ...Why are you reading this?!
b) Yes! Go to 2.
2) Did it reduce the ability score to 0?
a) No! ...It doesn't trigger condition in rules, you're better. Go away.
b) Yes! You need to fix it!
3) Did you try to make saves and fail?
a) No! You're fixed.
b) Yes! You're sick. Pay for healing!
4) Did you get healed?
a) No! You're unplayable.
b) Yes! See you next round!

****

Marcus Gföller wrote:


Can another party member use the Heal skill to help him on the saves?

I missed this bit the first time around. Yes, party members can provide aid via the heal skill, and this is highly recommended since anyone can roll it.

Also, keep in mind the difference between ability damage and drain. Damage heals on its own and once the affliction is resolved it can be assumed that the person is fine by the next scenario. Ability drain is permanent until cured, typically by a restoration spell (with 100 gp in diamond dust as the material component).

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / Pathfinder Society GM Discussion / Some questions about after-game wrapup All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.