Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Gun slinger wants to keep a slave he bought


Pathfinder Society® General Discussion

Andoran

i have a gun slinger who in a mod bought a slave and wants the pathfinders to train him and see what he his good at so that when the time comes i will then have a theif

Cheliax *** Venture-Captain, Washington—Seattle aka Big Kyle

Has no in game effect in pfs, but makes a good back story. You also have reason to buy a prestiege follower that is story driven.

Cheliax **

or it's a good concept for a friend to play, or to play when your gunnslinger dies or retires.

Qadira **

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules Subscriber

slaves are available for purchase in the adventurer's armory, so there shouldn't be a rules problem with this.

Grand Lodge ***

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

This is covered in the PFS FAQ:

What impact do NPCs, such slaves or vanity-purchased NPCs from the Pathfinder Society Field Guide have on my character?

First and foremost, the Leadership feat remains unavailable as a choice in Pathfinder Society. NPCs purchased with Prestige Points out of the Pathfinder Society Field Guide, pages 60-61, continue to provide only the benefits listed under the entries created for the Chronicler, Foreign Contact, Guide, Herald, Hunter, Porter, Seneschal, and Squire. Other than the benefit listed, they have no statistics and can not make any checks involving a dice roll. Slaves or any other NPCs, purchased with gold, are purely roleplaying flavor and have no mechanical benefits because they have no statistics. They can not make any checks involving a dice roll. Creatures that are granted by a class ability, such as animal companions, familiars, eidolons, and mounts have stats and therefore can be utilized in combat, for skill checks, etc...

Grand Lodge ****

Yeah, basically you can't have hirelings that have any game effect beyond the listed one in certain vanities. Cool story, but they don't even get targeted by enemies.

RPG Superstar 2008 Top 32

I removed a post. That was unnecessary.

Grand Lodge ***

Vanity follower question, are we limited to one or your charisma bonus? My gunslinger would like to build a contact network.

***

Kyrie Ebonblade wrote:
Vanity follower question, are we limited to one or your charisma bonus? My gunslinger would like to build a contact network.

You can have a number of followers equal to your charisma bonus, yes; if you buy an island, that increases this amount by +2. Also, the seneschal follower doesn't count against your maximum number of followers.

Shadow Lodge ****

IIRC theres a scenario where you can use Gold to buy slaves I think thats what the OP is talking about ...

Qadira **

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules Subscriber

My Andoran has bought slaves several times in scenarios to free them. One scenario I can think of is Murder on the Silken Caravan.

Andoran

Can slaves bought by one PFS character be freed by another, or does that border on PVP?

Taldor ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion Subscriber
Dudeacles wrote:
Can slaves bought by one PFS character be freed by another, or does that border on PVP?

I think that steps over the border by a bit. You can't destroy/remove items another player has purchased.

Taldor **

Dudeacles wrote:
Can slaves bought by one PFS character be freed by another, or does that border on PVP?

If the other player "lets" you free them, I'd think it would be fine. Otherwise, yes, it'd be PVP. You're essentially wasting their gold. You may as well be taking their gold and throwing it in the Worldwound.

Andoran

El Baron de los Banditos wrote:
Dudeacles wrote:
Can slaves bought by one PFS character be freed by another, or does that border on PVP?
If the other player "lets" you free them, I'd think it would be fine. Otherwise, yes, it'd be PVP. You're essentially wasting their gold. You may as well be taking their gold and throwing it in the Worldwound.

Or tossing it into the old Sphere of Annihilation comes to mind :D

But thank you both for the answers, such knowledge will be very useful if such an encounter comes.

*

1970Zombie wrote:

This is covered in the PFS FAQ:

What impact do NPCs, such slaves or vanity-purchased NPCs from the Pathfinder Society Field Guide have on my character?

First and foremost, the Leadership feat remains unavailable as a choice in Pathfinder Society. NPCs purchased with Prestige Points out of the Pathfinder Society Field Guide, pages 60-61, continue to provide only the benefits listed under the entries created for the Chronicler, Foreign Contact, Guide, Herald, Hunter, Porter, Seneschal, and Squire. Other than the benefit listed, they have no statistics and can not make any checks involving a dice roll. Slaves or any other NPCs, purchased with gold, are purely roleplaying flavor and have no mechanical benefits because they have no statistics. They can not make any checks involving a dice roll. Creatures that are granted by a class ability, such as animal companions, familiars, eidolons, and mounts have stats and therefore can be utilized in combat, for skill checks, etc...

.....so if it isn't purchased with gold, I could charm a townsfolk into pulling around my flying chariot (floating disk) during combat?

I am assuming the standard NPC is statless and therefore could fall into the RAI, but lacking the gold they seem to bypass the RAW.

Paizo Employee ***** Global Organized Play Coordinator

That would be at the GMs discretion at the table. However, I think pulling your floating disk around in combat clearly falls under, "...you must win an opposed Charisma check to convince it to do anything it wouldn't normally do. An affected creature never obeys suicidal or obviously harmful orders...."

Cheliax **

Can we get a ruling on if slaves purchased with PP as vanties can be freed by other PCs? There was an unfortunate incident last night where 3 cheliaxian PCs were unconcious, and some Andoran halfling PCs had a chat with a couple of their halfing "squires".

Taldor **

Victor Zajic wrote:
Can we get a ruling on if slaves purchased with PP as vanties can be freed by other PCs? There was an unfortunate incident last night where 3 cheliaxian PCs were unconcious, and some Andoran halfling PCs had a chat with a couple of their halfing "squires".

I'm not sure why this needs an official ruling, as it falls into the same category as if they spent money on it. It falls under the "Don't Be a Jerk." If the Andoran goes unconcious, can the Chels chuck the halfling's new masterwork armour that Colson sent him personally off a cliff? If he got hit enough to go down, he clearly didn't need it that much or use it that well.

Needless to say, there is nothing to stop this conversation from actually happening. It is ONLY a converation, though; not a jailbreak. The squire isn't going to act on it*, but roleplay happened. Hopefully not while the other three were bleeding out.

*:
Oh man, if this was a home game and I was the Chelaxian (or somewhere where you'd play with the same folks a lot), I'd have fun with this. I'd have a "new" squire every time the Andoran managed to converse with my current squire. "Where in the 9 Circles do they keep running off to!?!"

Paizo Employee ***** Global Organized Play Coordinator

Victor Zajic wrote:
Can we get a ruling on if slaves purchased with PP as vanties can be freed by other PCs? There was an unfortunate incident last night where 3 cheliaxian PCs were unconcious, and some Andoran halfling PCs had a chat with a couple of their halfing "squires".

No, other PCs may not free slaves purchased as vanities by other PCs.

***** Venture-Lieutenant, Georgia—Atlanta aka CRobledo

Sitri wrote:
.....so if it isn't purchased with gold, I could charm a townsfolk into pulling around my flying chariot (floating disk) during combat?

I don't think floating disk does what you think it does...

***

CRobledo wrote:
Sitri wrote:
.....so if it isn't purchased with gold, I could charm a townsfolk into pulling around my flying chariot (floating disk) during combat?
I don't think floating disk does what you think it does...

Indeed.

It's an irony of Floating Disk that you can use it to transport your hireling around, but they can't transport *you* in it, nor can you transport *yourself* in it.

It might even be fairly comical to watch a caster try to climb into his floating disk, as it will keep trying to "follow" him...

*****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
CRobledo wrote:
Sitri wrote:
.....so if it isn't purchased with gold, I could charm a townsfolk into pulling around my flying chariot (floating disk) during combat?
I don't think floating disk does what you think it does...

You killed my father. Prepare to die.

Shadow Lodge *** Venture-Lieutenant, California—Silicon Valley aka JohnF

Kyle Baird wrote:
CRobledo wrote:
Sitri wrote:
.....so if it isn't purchased with gold, I could charm a townsfolk into pulling around my flying chariot (floating disk) during combat?
I don't think floating disk does what you think it does...
You killed my father. Prepare to die.

Been there, done that - got the T-shirt

The sad thing is that I was wearing this a couple of years ago, and the receptionist at the hotel where I was checking in actually thought it was a real name tag, and was concerned that he couldn't find a reservation for a Mr. Montoya.

Kids today ...

Andoran *****

Inigo has been sadly misinformed this entire time. His father is alive. The guy walked into my workplace a couple months back. Looked exactly like Inigo.

Shadow Lodge *****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
David Haller wrote:
CRobledo wrote:
Sitri wrote:
.....so if it isn't purchased with gold, I could charm a townsfolk into pulling around my flying chariot (floating disk) during combat?
I don't think floating disk does what you think it does...

Indeed.

It's an irony of Floating Disk that you can use it to transport your hireling around, but they can't transport *you* in it, nor can you transport *yourself* in it.

It might even be fairly comical to watch a caster try to climb into his floating disk, as it will keep trying to "follow" him...

The solution would be to have a "slave" with the ability to cast Floating Disk, so the "owner" could ride the slave's floating disk as the slave marches in front. I don't think Vanity NPCs get PC classes though, or else that would make one heck of a Herald/Porter.

Silver Crusade *

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Mike Bramnik wrote:
The solution would be to have a "slave" with the ability to cast Floating Disk, so the "owner" could ride the slave's floating disk as the slave marches in front. I don't think Vanity NPCs get PC classes though, or else that would make one heck of a Herald/Porter.

Hey, my herald only has a mop and a kazoo. He *does* manage to keep my armor shiny, at least, which has proven to be a challenge for the little guy, given how often I fail Acrobatics checks and fall into standing sewer water.

Spoiler from "Cassomir's Locker":

Spoiler:
Catraoine rescued a mite who had been enslaved by the derros. Despite not being able to speak with the mite (who only spoke Undercommon), Catraoine was able to do well enough with Diplomacy (and hand gestures) to convince the little blue guy to help us. He wound up becoming so enamored of my character that he followed her around -- when another party member gave the mite a mop, he kept trying to clean off Catraoine's armor (she fell into the sewers on three separate occasions). After all that, it was only right to spend the PP to take him as my herald. :-D

Silver Crusade *****

Catraoine Becket wrote:

Hey, my herald only has a mop and a kazoo. He *does* manage to keep my armor shiny, at least, which has proven to be a challenge for the little guy, given how often I fail Acrobatics checks and fall into standing sewer water.

Spoiler from "Cassomir's Locker":
** spoiler omitted **

Ah, apparently I can't post with one of my character aliases, or else Castigar would say "It was...amusing."

As me though, I think it was pretty awesome :)

Shadow Lodge ***** Venture-Captain, Michigan—Alma

Yeah, the IT team hasn't gotten around to making it so we can us aliases yet.

*

CRobledo wrote:
Sitri wrote:
.....so if it isn't purchased with gold, I could charm a townsfolk into pulling around my flying chariot (floating disk) during combat?
I don't think floating disk does what you think it does...

While I don't think it is the intended use, I don't see why it couldn't work.

Spoiler:

You create a slightly concave, circular plane of force that follows you about and carries loads for you. The disk is 3 feet in diameter and 1 inch deep at its center. It can hold 100 pounds of weight per caster level. If used to transport a liquid, its capacity is 2 gallons. The disk floats approximately 3 feet above the ground at all times and remains level. It floats along horizontally within spell range and will accompany you at a rate of no more than your normal speed each round. If not otherwise directed, it maintains a constant interval of 5 feet between itself and you. The disk winks out of existence when the spell duration expires. The disk also winks out if you move beyond its range or try to take the disk more than 3 feet away from the surface beneath it. When the disk winks out, whatever it was supporting falls to the surface beneath it.

Even though I am above the disk, it won't float higher than three feet.

Also it has the line "if not otherwise directed," so it can be directed. It doesn't really say how it is directed. I don't see any problem with someone else directing the hover board. If others can't move it that would mean a first level spell works like a three foot high immovable rod which can't be right, or I could even strong arm someone tied to it.

Worse case scenario I would think I mentally direct it but I have the slave there for flavor; there is nothing to suggest directing it takes any real effort on my part. And if that is true I could then use it to make bull rush attempts without chance of fail if others can't impact its movement.

Simply letting others push or pull it seems like the least broken option for this spell.

Qadira ***

Sitri wrote:
CRobledo wrote:
Sitri wrote:
.....so if it isn't purchased with gold, I could charm a townsfolk into pulling around my flying chariot (floating disk) during combat?
I don't think floating disk does what you think it does...

While I don't think it is the intended use, I don't see why it couldn't work.

** spoiler omitted **

Even though I am above the disk, it won't float higher than three feet.

Also it has the line "if not otherwise directed," so it can be directed. It doesn't really say how it is directed. I don't see any problem with someone else directing the hover board. If others can't move it that would mean a first level spell works like a three foot high immovable rod which can't be right, or I could even strong arm someone tied to it.

Worse case scenario I would think I mentally direct it but I have the slave there for flavor; there is nothing to suggest directing it takes any real effort on my part. And if that is true I could then use it to make bull rush attempts without chance of fail if others can't impact its movement.

Simply letting others push or pull it seems like the least broken option for this...

Sitri - while I agree with you, you can expect a lot of table variation on this. YMMV.

Grand Lodge ***

Eric Clingenpeel wrote:
Yeah, the IT team hasn't gotten around to making it so we can us aliases yet.

Oh so it's not just me huh?

***** Venture-Lieutenant, Georgia—Atlanta aka CRobledo

Thomas Graham wrote:
Eric Clingenpeel wrote:
Yeah, the IT team hasn't gotten around to making it so we can us aliases yet.
Oh so it's not just me huh?

I actually thought that was on purpose!

****

I think it is on purpose. VOs have to use their real names on the society section of the boards.

Shadow Lodge ***** Venture-Captain, Michigan—Alma

Well, at least for the Faction forums I know they were working on allowing us VOs to post as aliases.

Grand Lodge ***

Mike Lindner wrote:
I think it is on purpose. VOs have to use their real names on the society section of the boards.

Well don't tell anyone inJax, they aren't supposed to know yet!

;)

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / General Discussion / Gun slinger wants to keep a slave he bought All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.