Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Does permanency transfer with reincarnate?


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

If a character uses permanency to make some spells permanent on their character, do those spells transfer to the new body when reincarnated? Are the spells bound to the body or the soul of the character?

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32 , Star Voter 2013, Star Voter 2014

I would say that personal range spells could conceptually target the caster's spirit and therfore transfer. Any spell that targets a creature would cease to function as the dead body is an object, not a creature. Spells that can target objects or creatures would probably persist through raise dead, but not reincarnate as you are creating a completely new body.

I don't think there is a RAW on this issue so expect a lot of GM variation.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber
Talieson wrote:

If a character uses permanency to make some spells permanent on their character, do those spells transfer to the new body when reincarnated? Are the spells bound to the body or the soul of the character?

They are bound to the body. And are buried along with it. You can't target a spirit so the body is the obvious answer.

Dark Archive RPG Superstar 2013 Top 32

LazarX wrote:
They are bound to the body. And are buried along with it. You can't target a spirit so the body is the obvious answer.

I agree with this statement. The "target" of the spell is no longer extant, so the spell effect ends.

Scarab Sages

LazarX wrote:
Talieson wrote:

If a character uses permanency to make some spells permanent on their character, do those spells transfer to the new body when reincarnated? Are the spells bound to the body or the soul of the character?

They are bound to the body. And are buried along with it. You can't target a spirit so the body is the obvious answer.

Yeah, the body blocks line-of-effect to the spirit. :)

Seriously, though, I'd also go with the spells being stuck to the body, and therefore lost.

Just one of those things that kinda sucks about getting killed.

On the other hand, I am nothing if not contrary, so you could argue otherwise by pointing at the workings of the astral projection spell, or the nature of outsiders, who form 'fake' bodies when they visit the mortal planes, that retain all of their constant spell-like abilities and whatnot, even 'though they are just spiritual replicas of their original bodies on the outie/innie/upper/downer planes.

Using that logic as precedent, a permanant spell could very well be argued to 'anchor' to the 'person' (which is their immortal soul/spirit/dark passenger) even if their meatsuit has bitten the big one (or even been abandoned entirely, in the case of reincarnation).

As always, your GM will be the final arbiter.


From a RAW perspective it's vague. And this isn't just the case for Permanency but for any spell with a long duration I think. I may be wrong though, don't have access to book or PRD from the phone.

Personally, if something like that ever comes up, I would probably let it stay if it was something mainly bound to the mind of the character (Fox's Cunning, Feeblemind, Bestow Curse) but let it drop if it was something mainly bound to the body (Alter Self, Dominate Person).

RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32, 2010 Top 8 , Star Voter 2013

I'd say just be conistent.

If spells made with permanency tranfer, then things like magical curses will too.

"Good news Bob, you've been reincarnated and your arcane sight is still running."
"Hooray!"
"Unfortuantely your friends reincarnated you on a full moon, and you're lycanthropy did to. Everyone roll for iniative!"


I agree with Matthew either way works just be conistent. If you get good permanency saved spell then you also get blindness/deafness, curse, feedbull mind, magical dieseas as well.

If donot get good permanency saved spell then you also donot get blindness/deafness, curse, feedbull mind, magical dieseas as well.

So it win lose or lose win GM s pick.


No other spells transfer over after death so I see no reason why that one should. Your new body never had the chance toe receive those spells.

Now as "rule of cool" I might allow it, but once the body dies it becomes a corpse and is ineligible.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Does permanency transfer with reincarnate? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.