Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Invisible containers


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

If I cast invisibility on a sealed chest full of treasure, what happens?

Sczarni

Um...it turns invisible? *Shrug*

Grand Lodge

What happens when you cast invisibility on a character right after lunch?


Or put an invisible cloak over something?

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I suspect the question is regarding to the chest becoming translucent, revealing its contents, or turning translucent and hiding it contents. I would assume the latter.


Imo, it goes invisible for the duration, including the material in it. The object is the chest, it's contents are part of it and don't need to have the spell cast on them either since they're carrying them. Treating it otherwise wouldn't be inline with the intent of the spell, not to mention it would make a person a much better containter than a chest which is just dumb.

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules Subscriber
Dust Raven wrote:
What happens when you cast invisibility on a character right after lunch?

...I have to admit, this actually could be important for creatures with Swallow Whole.

First instinct is to roll with "everything becomes invisible". Man...that's pretty horrifying really.


I have always treated invisible containers as keeping what they contain invisible too.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Shar Tahl wrote:
I suspect the question is regarding to the chest becoming translucent, revealing its contents, or turning translucent and hiding it contents.

;)

Silver Crusade

I had a DM in 2nd ed that ruled the PCs can't see through invisible walls!

He also ruled that invisible PCs could automatically be seen by NPCs, on the grounds that if the NPC thought that there was stuff happening that didn't have a visible source, that the only explanation was that there must be some invisible creatures responsible, therefore gaining a 'disbelieve' save because Invisibility is from the illusion school!

It didn't work the other way, for some reason...!


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Anyone else have any ideas?


RAW since it is being cast on an object it doesn't get the same bonus as a creature in that all items carried (or in the chest) would disappear, and reading the description of illusion(glamer) indicates it actually changes the chest to be seen through, so you could see the contents of the chest. this imo doesn't really do anything but make a 2nd level spell (invisibility) into a highly specialized and crappier version of a 3rd level spell (clairvoyance to look inside the chest).

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Invisible containers All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.