Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Looking for a FAQ I cant already find Re: Urban Barbarian and Rage Prophet


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

The question: A character taking the Urban Barbarian Archetype would still need to take moment of clarity as a prerequisite for rage prophet or not? It seems kinda silly if you look at the wording of both the Archetype changes to rage and the rage power.

An Urban Barbarian who was not going for rage prophet would get zero use (ever) from this rage power.

I'm asking for an errata that states/allows urban barbarian archetype to be used in lieu of moment of clarity as a prereq for Rage Prophet.

thanks


By "Rules As Written", an Urban Barbarian would have to take the moment of clarity rage power. Were I the GM, I'd house-rule it, but in PFS you may not have that choice. I will FAQ the question, though.

(Is FAQ a verb now?)


yea i intend on house ruling it, but would like to have it errata'd because I dislike house rules, on mostly dislike splatbooks (I only allow SSG stuff and thats because its really good and havent found anything OP, mostly just swapped)


Pathfinder Campaign Setting Subscriber

I'd still require a player to take Moment of Clarity to qualify, but only because Controlled Rage is an option for raging rather than a replacement. If the character enters an uncontrolled rage they would have to use MoC to cast as normal, as RAW you choose between Controlled and normal rage when you begin raging rather then being able switch as you desire.


how does RAW give you a choice between which rage you use?

You get controlled rage which replaces the regular rage. there is no choice.

Even If there was an ability to choose (in which it would seem pretty OP) then using this sort of rage would preclude the need for using moment of clarity, as it produces the exact same results.


bump

Qadira

Controlled Rage wrote:


When an urban barbarian rages, instead of making a normal rage she may apply a +4 morale bonus to her Strength, Dexterity, or Constitution. This bonus increases to +6 when she gains greater rage and +8 when she gains mighty rage. She may apply the full bonus to one ability score or may split the bonus between several scores in increments of +2. When using a controlled rage, an urban barbarian gains no bonus on Will saves, takes no penalties to AC, and can still use Intelligence-, Dexterity-, and Charisma-based skills. This ability otherwise follows the normal rules for rage.

Emphasis mine. What this means is that you can either take the Controlled rage modifiers, or a standard rage.

In response to Pendagast, RAW you still have to take MoC. Your statement of the urban Barbarian getting "zero use (ever)" of MoC is purely dependent on playstyle. I've seen Urban Barbarians in play use both rages, although I've never even seen a Rage prophet in play, so I suppose there's that.

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

It is also worth noting that a urban barbarian still cannot cast spells under a controlled rage.
"While in rage, a barbarian cannot use any Charisma-, Dexterity-, or Intelligence-based skills (except Acrobatics, Fly, Intimidate, and Ride) or any ability that requires patience or concentration."

The barbarian cannot cast spells because it requires concentration. That is the only limitation that the urban barbarian does not remove. An urban Barbarian still cannot do things that require concentration while in a controlled Rage. If you are taking Rage Prophet, you will Need Moment of Clarity any ways.

Andoran

I think it's a stretch to say Controlled Rage is an option on top of normal rage.

I read that as just explaining how to activate Controlled Rage. It still replaces it as most other normal archetype features. It isn't worded that differently from normal rage.

SRD wrote:
A barbarian can call upon inner reserves of strength and ferocity, granting her additional combat prowess. Starting at 1st level, a barbarian can rage for a number of rounds per day equal to 4 + her Constitution modifier.


Seriphim84 wrote:

It is also worth noting that a urban barbarian still cannot cast spells under a controlled rage.

"While in rage, a barbarian cannot use any Charisma-, Dexterity-, or Intelligence-based skills (except Acrobatics, Fly, Intimidate, and Ride) or any ability that requires patience or concentration."

The barbarian cannot cast spells because it requires concentration. That is the only limitation that the urban barbarian does not remove. An urban Barbarian still cannot do things that require concentration while in a controlled Rage. If you are taking Rage Prophet, you will Need Moment of Clarity any ways.

Controlled Rage (Ex):
When an urban barbarian rages, instead of making a normal rage she may apply a +4 morale bonus to her Strength, Dexterity, or Constitution. This bonus increases to +6 when she gains greater rage and +8 when she gains mighty rage. She may apply the full bonus to one ability score or may split the bonus between several scores in increments of +2. When using a controlled rage, an urban barbarian gains no bonus on Will saves, takes no penalties to AC, and can still use Intelligence-, Dexterity-, and Charisma-based skills. This ability otherwise follows the normal rules for rage.

It seems that the Urban Barbarian can use skills that require Intelligence-, Dexterity-, and Charisma based skills. But if it uses the normal rules other for it they 'still' cannot cast spells while under a controlled rage.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Looking for a FAQ I cant already find Re: Urban Barbarian and Rage Prophet All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.