Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Metamagic rod question


Rules Questions


So if a metamagic rod has empower and maximize, does it take a standard action to activate or do you need to spend multiple actions to use it, because it has 2 abilities?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Maps Subscriber

Generally items with more than one ability require you to activate them separately. I can't think of any exceptions although I'm sure there are plenty. This shouldn't be one of them. It will be super expensive and if your GM allows you to craft one that activates both metamagics at once he or she should should increase the cost exponentially.

78,375 gp for one rod that uses the two as separate actions.

Andoran

Metamagic rods do not requrie activation, however because you would normally only be able to use 1 rod a time you would have to choose if this new rod allowed you to use 1 or both abilities, as this would affect the overall price of the item.


Anyone else have any ideas?


Any others


Metamagic rods are use-activated. You just have to be holding it when you cast the spell.

You're asking about a custom magic item, so if your GM lets you have that custom magic item, then he should also let you know any other restrictions or action costs he's assigned to it.

Taldor RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32

It's a custom item. If it is just a Maximize Rod glued to an Empower Rod it would be able to use either metamagic feat, one at a time, 3/day each. The cost would be that of a Maximize Rod + 1.5*cost of an Enpower Rod, so:27,500gp, 102,750gp, or 231,000gp for a lesser, normal, and greater rod, respectively, assuming default prices for a custom "combo" item. Must be approved by the GM, of course. Note the greater rod likely falls into the realm of a lesser artifact.

Now, a rod that maximize and empowers at the same time 3/day is effectively a +5 level metamagic effect - we have no hard and fast pricing guidelines for such a thing. Eyeballing the progression for +1-4 level metamagics, I'd estimate about 50,000gp/110,000gp/250,000gp for lesser/normal/greater. It would certainly be more expensive than a Quicken rod. Same comment on the greater rod.

The price would go even higher if you wanted to be able to use either or both metamagic feats 3/day each, combining them if you wanted, but not always requiring them to be combined.

As always, any custom item requires GM oversight.


ryric

The 1.5x multiplier only applies to slotted items. The Rod is not a slotted item. With that said, I might still charge a player a little bit due to the action economy and weight savings. But that charge would not be an extra 50%.

- Gauss

Taldor RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32

While it isn't strictly a slotted item, it does use up a limited body-space resource (a hand) so I think it's fair to price it as if slotted. It's not slotless in the sense of an item that works while in your pocket or hovering near you. I think the 50% is fair, but this is entirely a GM call.

I'm not saying Gauss' interpretation is wrong either. This is just the variance you should expect when building custom items.


I think there would be some thought by the GM if you COULD activate two metamagic effects from the same rod. The rod descriptions themselves say that you can't use two rods on the same spell. Allowing two simultaneous metamagic effects from the same rod is an extremely powerful ability, much more powerful than just being able to have two effects from one device.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Metamagic rod question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.