Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Sawtooth Sabre


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

So I recently got the UE and was looking at the weapons and I saw the Sawtooth Sabre and I was wondering if I take the exotic weapon feat for Sawtooth Saber and I'm a fighter with the two-weapon fighting Arch-Type would I get the bonuses for wielding a light weapon in my off-hand from the class special improved balance and perfect balance?

Sawtooth Saber: The signature weapon of certain assassin cults, the sawtooth saber is a cruelly efficient weapon. You may use a sawtooth sabre as a Martial Weapon (in which case it functions identically to a longsword). If you have the Exotic Weapon Proficiency(sawtooth sabre) feat, for the purpose of two-weapon fighting you can treat it as a light melee weapon; for all other purposes it is one-handed melee weapon.

Improved Balance (Ex): At 11th level, the attack penalties for fighting with two weapons are reduced by –1 for a two-weapon warrior. Alternatively, he may use a one-handed weapon in his off-hand, treating it as if it were a light weapon with the normal light weapon penalties. This ability replaces armor training 3.

Perfect Balance (Ex): At 15th level, the penalties for fighting with two weapons are reduced by an additional –1 for a two-weapon warrior. This benefit stacks with improved balance. If he is using a one-handed weapon in his off hand, treating it as a light weapon, he uses the normal light weapon penalties. This ability replaces armor training 4.

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

That's how I read it.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Will Pratt wrote:
So I recently got the UE and was looking at the weapons and I saw the Sawtooth Sabre and I was wondering if I take the exotic weapon feat for Sawtooth Saber and I'm a fighter with the two-weapon fighting Arch-Type would I get the bonuses for wielding a light weapon in my off-hand from the class special improved balance and perfect balance?

When using two sawtoothed sabres with proficiency, your two-weapon fighting and class abilities that improve it apply penalties as if using a light weapon in your off-hand, so you don't need or benefit from the archetype abilities related to using a one-handed weapon in your off-hand.

Andoran

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber
Starglim wrote:
Will Pratt wrote:
So I recently got the UE and was looking at the weapons and I saw the Sawtooth Sabre and I was wondering if I take the exotic weapon feat for Sawtooth Saber and I'm a fighter with the two-weapon fighting Arch-Type would I get the bonuses for wielding a light weapon in my off-hand from the class special improved balance and perfect balance?
When using two sawtoothed sabres with proficiency, your two-weapon fighting and class abilities that improve it apply penalties as if using a light weapon in your off-hand, so you don't need or benefit from the archetype abilities related to using a one-handed weapon in your off-hand.

I think his question basically boiled down to : "If I have Exotic Weapon Proficiency: Sawtooth Saber, and I take the Two-weapon warrior Archetype, will I be able to two-weapon fight without any penalty when I have Perfect Balance?"

I read it to be, yes, he can. The same way someone with Exotic Weapon Proficiency: Bastard Sword would apply all of their abilities to the Bastard Sword as a one-handed weapon in this scenario, the guy with the feat for Sawtooth Sabre would be able to apply his abilities as though the saber were a light weapon, meaning he only has a -1 penalty to two-weapon fight at 11th, and no penalty at all at 15th when two-weapon fighting with a pair of ST sabers and the EWP feat.


I agree with Ssalarn (if another opinion is needed/wanted).

Grand Lodge

Ssalarn wrote:
Starglim wrote:
Will Pratt wrote:
So I recently got the UE and was looking at the weapons and I saw the Sawtooth Sabre and I was wondering if I take the exotic weapon feat for Sawtooth Saber and I'm a fighter with the two-weapon fighting Arch-Type would I get the bonuses for wielding a light weapon in my off-hand from the class special improved balance and perfect balance?
When using two sawtoothed sabres with proficiency, your two-weapon fighting and class abilities that improve it apply penalties as if using a light weapon in your off-hand, so you don't need or benefit from the archetype abilities related to using a one-handed weapon in your off-hand.

I think his question basically boiled down to : "If I have Exotic Weapon Proficiency: Sawtooth Saber, and I take the Two-weapon warrior Archetype, will I be able to two-weapon fight without any penalty when I have Perfect Balance?"

I read it to be, yes, he can. The same way someone with Exotic Weapon Proficiency: Bastard Sword would apply all of their abilities to the Bastard Sword as a one-handed weapon in this scenario, the guy with the feat for Sawtooth Sabre would be able to apply his abilities as though the saber were a light weapon, meaning he only has a -1 penalty to two-weapon fight at 11th, and no penalty at all at 15th when two-weapon fighting with a pair of ST sabers and the EWP feat.

Exactly my reading as well.

To paraphrase slightly: would the OP get benefits as if wielding a light weapon in his off-hand from the archetype abilities improved balance and perfect balance? Yes, he would.

Andoran

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber
Starglim wrote:
Ssalarn wrote:
Starglim wrote:
Will Pratt wrote:
So I recently got the UE and was looking at the weapons and I saw the Sawtooth Sabre and I was wondering if I take the exotic weapon feat for Sawtooth Saber and I'm a fighter with the two-weapon fighting Arch-Type would I get the bonuses for wielding a light weapon in my off-hand from the class special improved balance and perfect balance?
When using two sawtoothed sabres with proficiency, your two-weapon fighting and class abilities that improve it apply penalties as if using a light weapon in your off-hand, so you don't need or benefit from the archetype abilities related to using a one-handed weapon in your off-hand.

I think his question basically boiled down to : "If I have Exotic Weapon Proficiency: Sawtooth Saber, and I take the Two-weapon warrior Archetype, will I be able to two-weapon fight without any penalty when I have Perfect Balance?"

I read it to be, yes, he can. The same way someone with Exotic Weapon Proficiency: Bastard Sword would apply all of their abilities to the Bastard Sword as a one-handed weapon in this scenario, the guy with the feat for Sawtooth Sabre would be able to apply his abilities as though the saber were a light weapon, meaning he only has a -1 penalty to two-weapon fight at 11th, and no penalty at all at 15th when two-weapon fighting with a pair of ST sabers and the EWP feat.

Exactly my reading as well.

To paraphrase slightly: would the OP get benefits as if wielding a light weapon in his off-hand from the archetype abilities improved balance and perfect balance? Yes, he would.

Ah, gotchya. I thought you were saying that since EWP already allows him to treat STS as light weapons he'd get no benefit from the abilities.

Grand Lodge

Probably I misread the first post, since I had the impression that Will had asked if he should apply bonuses for wielding a one-handed weapon in his off-hand.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Yes, you have it write on. You might also look at the Red Mantis Assassin from Inner Sea Guide. I played a Tengu Rouge/RMA that was LOADS of fun.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

An Alchemist can two hand, two Sawtooth Sabres, with four arms, and really have fun with them.

In general, I like the Sawtooth Sabre.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Sawtooth Sabre All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.