Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Does a Mithril Breastplate Count as Light For the Brawling Property


Rules Questions


that about sums it up.


Yes, they only count as medium for proficiency.


It counts as light for every purpose except armor proficiency I believe.


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

So, Mithral Breastplate, add the Brawling enchantment, then add an Armored Kilt.

What happens?


blackbloodtroll wrote:

So, Mithral Breastplate, add the Brawling enchantment, then add an Armored Kilt.

What happens?

actually very good question, i would like to know as well cause who knows when it may come up?


well Bt RAW you would be fine. It says you can only PLACE the brawling enchantment on light armor if that armor becomes heavy or meduim the brawling still functions.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Sarcasm?

Actually, having a +1 Brawling Armored Kilt is likely to happen.

Later, you find some Celestial Armor, you wear both, well then, what happens?


I'm going to go against the flow and say "no" to the +1 brawling mithral breastplate. My reason is because what it actually says on pgs. 154-155 of the CRB is that mithral armors are treated as one category lighter than normal for purposes of movement and other limitations. Then they say that the decrease doesn't apply to proficiency, which tells me that it still is what it is, just lighter and easier to wear than normal. Clearly, the way that most people remember it is as mithral being one category lighter for everything but proficiency; but that's not actually what it says.

If I allowed armored kilts at all -- which I wouldn't, and PFS doesn't -- then a +1 brawling armored kilt would work just fine with celestial armor, for the same reason. I would just treat the combination as one category heavier than normal for purposes of movement and other limitations.


Fredrik wrote:

I'm going to go against the flow and say "no" to the +1 brawling mithral breastplate. My reason is because what it actually says on pgs. 154-155 of the CRB is that mithral armors are treated as one category lighter than normal for purposes of movement and other limitations. Then they say that the decrease doesn't apply to proficiency, which tells me that it still is what it is, just lighter and easier to wear than normal. Clearly, the way that most people remember it is as mithral being one category lighter for everything but proficiency; but that's not actually what it says.

.

It all depends of what are those other limitations. So, unless a dev appear and clarify this, there is no hard RAW in this issue.


Yes, that's half of my point: it's not so clear-cut as people are making it sound. The other half is that if proficiency doesn't count for the decrease, then why should magic special abilities? Even though a mithral breastplate is lighter and easier to use, a bard still can't wear it without penalties for non-proficiency, because it's still medium armor. So RAI, how would you justify putting brawling on it?

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Does a Mithril Breastplate Count as Light For the Brawling Property All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.