Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

What action is "Touch of the Spirit World"?


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hey everyone.
Quick question:

The APG "Souls" Subdomain has the first level ability "Touch of the Spirit World" which allows to make a weapon "sorta ghosttouch".

Problem is, it only says "With a touch you can..." but not a real type of action required.

I guess it's a free or swift action but if it's NO action, then couldn't I wait to use it until I made my attack roll and see IF I even hit?


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Usually, when unspecified, the default is a standard action.

Cheliax

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber
DracoDruid wrote:

Hey everyone.

Quick question:

The APG "Souls" Subdomain has the first level ability "Touch of the Spirit World" which allows to make a weapon "sorta ghosttouch".

Problem is, it only says "With a touch you can..." but not a real type of action required.

I guess it's a free or swift action but if it's NO action, then couldn't I wait to use it until I made my attack roll and see IF I even hit?

Well its a SU: ability so I would assume it is a standard action.


Always play it as a standard action.


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hmm... That would seriously nerf the ability.

In addition, it wouldn't do you much (or any) good at 1st level:
Standard action to active, 1 round duration.
Since you used your standard, you can't attack.
So you end your turn doing something else with your move action only.
Start of your next turn, duration ends.
Hurray!

I would "vote" it to work like the Paladin's Lay on Hands ability.

Swift on self, standard on someone else...

Would you guys do me a favor and FAQ my first post?

Maybe we can get a dev to answer this...

But thanks for the replies.


First, yes it is a standard action. The power is similar to many other supernatural Domain powers which are standard action to activate.

Second, it is not useless. You can touch your weapon, another creatures weapon etc.

Third, it does you no good at 1st level regardless. 1st level people do not face incorporeal creatures. However, should you be a 1st level cleric and X level something else then congrats, you have level dipped to get a 'semi-useless' ability. Take heart though, you can still touch your buddy fighter's weapon every round to grant it the ability to fully damage incorporeal creatures. YAY!

Honestly, there are many powers that are like this. It isnt that big a deal. Now, if you want to read a Domain power that really needs a FAQ here is one:

APG p90 wrote:
Tugging Strands (Su): At 8th level, you can force a creature within line of sight to reroll any one roll that it has just made before the result of the roll is revealed. The result of the reroll must be taken, even if it is worse than the original roll. You can use this ability once per day at 8th level, and one additional time per day for every 6 levels beyond 8th.

This is an ability that does not work as advertised. Because of no wording to the contrary it is a standard action to use. Because it requires a standard action the only way to force a creature to reroll anything before the result of the roll is revealed is to ready an action to do it. Now, this one is clearly intended to be a 'no action' but that is not present in the wording.

- Gauss

Edit: BTW, if you think a single power that takes a standard action to activate and only lasts 1 round is bad, all of the summon monster/nature's ally spells take a round to cast and then only last 1 round at first level. As a summoner I do not even bother with summoning spells until at least level 3.


Gauss: That's because the best level 1 summoning spell is Mount.


Serisan:

Horses summoned by mount cannot hit (-2attack) whereas some creatures summoned by Summon Monster can (some have decent attack bonuses for level 1). Regarding Summon Nature's Ally, druids do not have access to Mount.

It still does not negate the statement that there are powers and spells that are not that effective at level 1 due to duration. The power in question (Touch of the Spirit World) is no different and thus does not require being turned into a swift action.

- Gauss


Gauss wrote:

Third, it does you no good at 1st level regardless. 1st level people do not face incorporeal creatures. However, should you be a 1st level cleric and X level something else then congrats, you have level dipped to get a 'semi-useless' ability. Take heart though, you can still touch your buddy fighter's weapon every round to grant it the ability to fully damage incorporeal creatures. YAY!

That's saved lives on more than one occasion.


Where in the rulebook is stated that a SU always takes a standard action?

If this would be the case, the devs wouldn't have to state that over and over again in each and every ability.

And about Summoning at 1st level.

Sure it isn't great, but the summoned creature gets to attack at least once!

And since we play Carrion Crown, we DID encounter incorporeals at 1st/2nd level.

Cheliax

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber
DracoDruid wrote:
Where in the rulebook is stated that a SU always takes a standard action?

Since it is not stated what type of action it is look at the Use Special Ability section, also look at the Actions in combat table and Supernatural Ability is listed as a standard action.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / What action is "Touch of the Spirit World"? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.