Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Question about spell levels


Rules Questions


New to PF, had a question about spell levels that I didn't really find in the core rulebook. According to the table for the wizard, you get a certain number of spells to prepare every class level. However, it would seem that you "unlock" spell levels for every odd number level. (You get 1 spell of spell level 2 to prepare when you reach class level 3).

I also know that as a Wizard, you learn 2 spells after each level, and you can learn them from any spell levels you have available. My question then, is when do these spell levels become available? Is it every odd numbered level?

If that's true, is it referenced in the rules anywhere? I cannot, for the life of me find it. Heh.

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Cards, Companion, Maps, Pawns, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber
timeaisis wrote:

New to PF, had a question about spell levels that I didn't really find in the core rulebook. According to the table for the wizard, you get a certain number of spells to prepare every class level. However, it would seem that you "unlock" spell levels for every odd number level. (You get 1 spell of spell level 2 to prepare when you reach class level 3).

I also know that as a Wizard, you learn 2 spells after each level, and you can learn them from any spell levels you have available. My question then, is when do these spell levels become available? Is it every odd numbered level?

If that's true, is it referenced in the rules anywhere? I cannot, for the life of me find it. Heh.

Core Rulebook wrote:
At each new wizard level, he gains two new spells of any spell level or levels that he can cast

(emphasis mine)

Note that the table for the wizard shows the number of spells he can cast per day, not the number of different spells that he can know. So if I can cast three first level spells a day that could be the same spell three times, or three different spells once each. But my spellbook (the list of spells known) could conceivably contain twelve or more first-level spells.

The spells you learn when you gain a class level are additions to the spells known, not to the number of spells you can cast a day. They can be of any spell level you could cast, so at the odd [class] levels you will be able to know spells of the new [spell] level that has become available to you.


Ok, but I guess that's the question I have. What determines the spell levels that a Wizard (or any other spellcaster) can learn? It seems like it's every odd level opens up the next one.

My understanding is that a Cleric (because he's divine), would learn all 2nd-level Cleric spells at level 3. While a Wizard, when reaching class level 3, would be able to learn up to two spells from spell level 2. Is that correct?

I just didn't see a clear answer in the rulebook...


a Cleric at Level 3 can "Ask his god for blessings" or in other words, he can choose from any Level 2 divine spells, memorizing them according to the allotted number in the table (adding bonus spells for high casting modifier)

A wizard at Level 3 (when you level him up so to speak) is given 2 "free" new spells of his choosing (of any level or levels he can cast) those are sort of automatic on each level. these are written down in his spell book. What a wizard can do is Learn or write down new spells he might find on his adventures. from scrolls or from an enemy wizard spell book.

but yes, in short, every odd Class level, you reach a new Spell level.

Paizo's PRD on the Wizard. read up on Spells section there, and spell book. (and the link to Magic where it's talked about adding spells to the spell book)


Thanks!


Don't forget to add the Int bonus to the number of spells you can learn for free when you level. Also, you can purchase more spells for your book based on a price per level.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Modules Subscriber
Derfmancher wrote:
Don't forget to add the Int bonus to the number of spells you can learn for free when you level.

And where would you have that idea from? Last time I checked, you added your Int bonus to the number of spells you received with your first wizard level only.

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

7 new spells per level! My wizard likes this idea.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Question about spell levels All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.