Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Vestige Worms mind control


Age of Worms Adventure Path


As stated in another recent post, I am running a modified Age of Worms campaign. I am using an article in Dragon # 343 that describes "vestige worms" which are a flavor text version of potions that give someone either a one use spell, a +10 skill bonus, or a special memory of the past. When the effect gets used, the worm is consumed and no longer exists.

As part of the description, it says anyone who has taken such a worm must make a DC20 Will save, or fall under the worm's mental control and causes the person to "seek out" followers of Kyuss and "follow" their will.

If I read this correctly, if the Worm does take control, it will never allow the person to "use" the power they provide, as it would destroy the worm and thus its control over the person.

My question is how much control does the worm have? The worm does not appear to be intelligent (as vermin, its Int is zero) so it can't do anything. Instead, it merely gives the person the desire to find a Kyuss worshiper so that the intelligent worshiper can instruct the worm-infested person who will obey completely. Does this sound correct?

Furthermore, this kind of mental control is absolute and without time limit as long as the worm remains inside. Although I assume that if such a person has Protection from Evil cast on him, the worm's mental influence is blocked.

If a person was infested with multiple worms and failed each save, then every single worm would need to be destroyed for the mind control to go away.

Is there anyway to forcibly destroy such a worm? Would a Remove Curse or Remove Disease do so - since that cures the regular worm infection that turns people into Spawn of Kyuss? The article doesn't say, but this makes sense. Would the worm get a Save to resist? What if the person who has the worm doesn't want to be without them (because they are a cult member)? Would they get a Save to resist, or it simply not work?

If these sound like a lot of rhetorical questions, that's because they mostly are. I find it useful to work things out like this, but hearing other opinions would be valuable.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Older Products / Dungeon Magazine / Age of Worms Adventure Path / Vestige Worms mind control All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Age of Worms Adventure Path

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.