Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Wall of Fire and the hot side of the wall in ring shape


Rules Questions

Andoran

I ran into a scenario where I was unsure how to handle Wall of Fires damage in a ring shape. Specifically if the hot wall side was the inside of the ring.

Does the 10' and 20' range of heat pulsing extend past itself in ring shape? or does the heat stay on the inside only?

If you make a small enough ring, say a 10' ring, would the heat pulse through the opposite side wall and do damage on a side not intended to be hot?

If need be I can illustrate but it should be simple enough to imagine. How do you think by the rules this should work?

Thanks.


The way I read it, it pulses towards 1 direction. So if you say it pulses inward and the heat crosses over to the other side of the circle and even surpasses that, thats allright. No problem at all. Just not further then the 20 ft. The firewall itself in circular form is not a barrier that stops the heat eminating from the firewall part on the other side of the firewall ring. It lets it through.

That side it passes through might not be intended to be hot because the source of the heat eminating from that side goes inward, but it doesn't pose a barrier to let the heat from the other side of the ring through.
So that side would be hot, yes, just not as hot and not as far eminating as if you would chose to make the heat face outward of the circle.

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Winterwalker wrote:

I ran into a scenario where I was unsure how to handle Wall of Fires damage in a ring shape. Specifically if the hot wall side was the inside of the ring.

Does the 10' and 20' range of heat pulsing extend past itself in ring shape? or does the heat stay on the inside only?

If you make a small enough ring, say a 10' ring, would the heat pulse through the opposite side wall and do damage on a side not intended to be hot?

If need be I can illustrate but it should be simple enough to imagine. How do you think by the rules this should work?

Thanks.

Seems that RAW it would extend back outside of the ring. RAI seems to be that the damage stays inside. The RAW in this case is silly.


I have an additional question about this spell:

Does the wall of fire prevent vision/line of effect of spells, arrows and all that? It isn't mentioned in the spell itself, but I do know an oracle of fire can have an ability to look through flames....so what would you rule?

Paizo Employee Developer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

In the Effect line of the spell it lists it as an opaque sheet of flame, so I've always ruled that you can't see through it.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

.....
....
...
..
.

A wall of fire (which is opaque as Adam points out) provides total concealment but not cover. It does not prevent ranged attacks per se, in the sense that blindness doesn't prevent ranged attacks either.

The heat effects would extend past the wall if you laid it out in a tight wall as the OP describes, in the same way that the wall would not interfere with a fireball or any other source of area damage.

Daron Woodson
Abandoned Arts


Thanks for the explanation. My first language not being english, I had and still have no clue what Opaque means :)

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Searching for a translation in Netherlander of opaque I find:

Ondoorzichtig

and

Mat

I hope it will help.


Opaque means "light does not pass through."
A clear glass (like a window) is transparent: light passes through it easily/completely--you can see everything on the other side.

A piece of thin paper may be translucent: some light can pass through it, but not easily/completely--you can't make out images on the other side.

A wood board is opaque: no light passes through it; you cannot see anything on the other side of.


Abandoned Arts wrote:

.....

....
...
..
.

A wall of fire (which is opaque as Adam points out) provides total concealment but not cover. It does not prevent ranged attacks per se, in the sense that blindness doesn't prevent ranged attacks either.

The heat effects would extend past the wall if you laid it out in a tight wall as the OP describes, in the same way that the wall would not interfere with a fireball or any other source of area damage.

Daron Woodson
Abandoned Arts

Just thought of something.. if you shoot an arrow through it to the center, the arrow has to survive the damage done to it, right?

If your aiming for something on the other side of circle, then it has to survive the fire damage twice.

Just thinking.


Thanks for the explanation and translation of Opaque, I get it now:))

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Wall of Fire and the hot side of the wall in ring shape All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.