Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Barbarian- Animal Fury


Beginner Box

Shadow Lodge

I am completely new to this and I have a budding barbarian. I was looking through the rage powers and am just really confused at how Animal Fury works.

I don't get the part where it says "...the bite attack is made at the barbarian's full base attack bonus -5"

Can someone give me an example of how this works or something like that?

Thanks.


Ensis15 wrote:

I am completely new to this and I have a budding barbarian. I was looking through the rage powers and am just really confused at how Animal Fury works.

I don't get the part where it says "...the bite attack is made at the barbarian's full base attack bonus -5"

Can someone give me an example of how this works or something like that?

Thanks.

This is pretty simple. Let's look at the whole rage power:

Animal Fury wrote:
While raging, the barbarian gains a bite attack. If used as part of a full attack action, the bite attack is made at the barbarian's full base attack bonus –5. If the bite hits, it deals 1d4 points of damage (assuming the barbarian is Medium; 1d3 points of damage if Small) plus half the barbarian's Strength modifier. A barbarian can make a bite attack as part of the action to maintain or break free from a grapple. This attack is resolved before the grapple check is made. If the bite attack hits, any grapple checks made by the barbarian against the target this round are at a +2 bonus.

(Emphasis Mine)

While it does not say it in the description, you can make the Bite Attack as a standard attack, using your highest Base Attack, and dealing the according damage listed.

The thing is, a Bite is a type of Natural Weapon; when using your Bite option as part of a Full Attack Option (AKA, your Iterative Attacks by having BAB +16, +11, and +6 respectively), your Bite is treated as a Secondary Weapon, and function as what a Secondary Natural Weapon would normally be treated as (for a Secondary Claw Attack, it rules as BAB -5, or BAB -2 if you have the Multi-Attack feat).

The nice thing about this feat is that you can use this Bite Attack as a side option through breaking free or maintaining a grapple, meaning that even if you fail to break free (or succeed in maintaining the grapple), you get a free Bite Attack attempt, and would function as Base Attack if not attacking with any other attack. (It otherwise works as a Secondary Natural Weapon.)

In addition, this Bite Attack also helps with grappling, meaning that when you succeed with a Bite Attack, you get an additional +2 with all grapple checks involving the target you attacked (including breaking free).

Contributor

Ensis, are you using the Beginner Box, or the Core Rulebook? Because the animal fury rage power isn't in the Beginner Box (or the freebie material with the barbarian), and I'm trying to figure out what sort of answer we should give you.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Beginner Box / Barbarian- Animal Fury All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.