Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Are official blog post FAQ's or Errata updates PFS legal?


Pathfinder Society® General Discussion

***

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

This week there were two Paizo official blog posts that addressed FAQs or Errata (one for the Winter Witch prestige class from Paths of Prestige, another addressing a bunch of misc. FAQ questions. (I'm writing this on Sept 14th 2012 for reference)

I know that there has been an update to the PFS guide that official rulings on the message boards should be assumed as being in effect - should we (as GM's and as players) also assume that these types of official Paizo blogs posts are also PFS applicable?

The Winter Witch Prestige class stuff is only lightly PFS relevant since many of the changes only happen at higher levels - but the changes are pretty large (resolving what was intended re Hexes and making some fairly major changes to the prestige class as it was published in Paths of Prestige).

The FAQ's are all relatively minor but definitely appreciated clarifications of a bunch of small points - seems like the sorts of stuff that PFS judges and players should be using - but finding these types of FAQ updates when they are buried in Blog posts vs posted to one of the official FAQs is non-trivial.

Grand Lodge *

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Maps Subscriber

The Winter Witch Prestige class is not relevant to PFS because the class is not available, according to the Additional Resources document.

***

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Ah I missed that - the Winter Witch archetype is, as far as I know legal, so I'm curious why the prestige class is not legal.

Grand Lodge *

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Maps Subscriber

It appears that the Winter Witch arcehtype is legal - it is from Inner Sea Magic. Why the prestige class wasn't allowed is unknown to me.

Grand Lodge **

I'd like to see further scrutiny of this multiple-AoO-for-one-action business before I'm required as a GM to apply it.

As happened for previous Paizo blog entries on other subjects, it seems reasonable that this entry will become official for PFS when cited in Additional Resources and linked from there for future reference.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Multiple AoOs per action has always been a part of the game. So I don't see why you wouldn't follow those rules.

Cheliax ****

The guide says you should follow online clarifications, doesn't it?

Paizo Employee ***** Global Organized Play Coordinator

Follow those on line clarifications.

Also,on Wed., both the Hellknight Signifier and Witer Witch from Paths of Prestige will become legal. You may use the updated Winter Witch posted on the blog.

Qadira *** Venture-Captain, Texas—Dallas & Ft. Worth aka Thorkull

Michael Brock wrote:

Follow those on line clarifications.

Also,on Wed., both the Hellknight Signifier and Witer Witch from Paths of Prestige will become legal. You may use the updated Winter Witch posted on the blog.

Mike, "may" or "must"? I just need to know if we should be ready for two different Winter Witch prestige classes at our tables.

***

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Mike

Thanks! Will such online faqs/erratas posted to blog posts be specifically called out on the additional resources page in the future? (as a few blog posts already have been)

Paizo Employee ***** Global Organized Play Coordinator

Rycaut wrote:

Mike

Thanks! Will such online faqs/erratas posted to blog posts be specifically called out on the additional resources page in the future? (as a few blog posts already have been)

I'm trying to avoid that if all possible. I'd rather not have 50+ links on the Additional Resources page.

Paizo Employee ***** Global Organized Play Coordinator

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Jonathan Cary wrote:
Michael Brock wrote:

Follow those on line clarifications.

Also,on Wed., both the Hellknight Signifier and Witer Witch from Paths of Prestige will become legal. You may use the updated Winter Witch posted on the blog.

Mike, "may" or "must"? I just need to know if we should be ready for two different Winter Witch prestige classes at our tables.

Let's say must since it's free to print it out, and when the book is reprinted, it will have the updated version.

***

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Perhaps then can I suggest a sticky thread here or a page that gathers up all such updates, errata and clarifications/faqs? Something to help both new and experienced players and especially GM's who may have missed a blog post or a message board thread and want to know what other changes and errata they should know about. I do think players playing a character should do some research but it would be easy to miss such errarta if it isn't listed on the FAQ pages, the additional resources page or the official errata page.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / General Discussion / Are official blog post FAQ's or Errata updates PFS legal? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.