Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Wondrous Item Confusion: How does it add up?


Suggestions/House Rules/Homebrew


Alright; this is probably some funky thread that will open up a can of worms (or have said cans of worms thrown at me), but of course, I am confused on the subject and I feel it needs official clarification (that I don't know about). So let's begin...

The Situation, Part 1:
If it hasn't been mentioned (or known to you) yet, I am currently a Lawful Evil 5th level Mobile Fighter Tank in our group of 6 people, and I am trying to find some Magic Item combinations that would work nicely. While I have found and confirmed a few items that I would plan to use, it would appear that there are items that I need to investigate otherwise, as well as options that I can perform with said items.

If I remember correctly (and I see it frequently on the forums, though I can't tell for sure), you can combine aspects of some magic/wondrous items together into one. I do know that there is an added cost for doing so, but I cannot configure for the life of me how this mechanic is supposed to work.

The Situation, Part 2:
Currently, I am wearing a Cloak of Resistance +1, but I am planning to work toward getting higher saves with the Cloak (bumping it to +5). I also found an item that fits my character's projected abilities and flavor, something that the Cape of the Mountebank is capable of doing. I want to combine both the Cape's powers and the Cloak of Resistance's powers.

Now the questions should be asked:

1. Is such a thing even possible?
2. Is there RAW that gives an answer as to how such a concept works, or is it a homebrew sort of thing?
3. How much in addition to the wondrous items is this "added cost," and how would it be determined?
4. Is there a limit as to how many magic item effects you can combine, or what types?
5. Are there any other exceptions to this rule?

Thanks in advance! (And FAQ's, if necessary, would be appreciated!)


The Cape of the Montebank has a price of 10,800 gp.

The Cloak of Resistance has a variable cost depending on the resistance bonus on saves: +1 is 1,000 gp; +2 is 4,000 gp; +3 is 9,000 gp; +4 is 16,000 gp; and +5 is 25,000 gp.

Now, when you combined two effects on the same item, the element with the lower cost gets multiplied by 1.5 (page 555 of the Core Rules Document, under Multiple Different Abilities).

So, the +1 version would have a price of 10,800 gp (cape) plus 1,500 gp (cloak), for at total of 12,300 gp.

The +2 would have a price of 10,800 gp (cape) plus 6,000 gp (cloak), for a total of 16,800 gp.

The +3 would have a price of 10,800 gp (cape) plus 13,500 gp (cloak), for a total of 24,300 gp.

The +4 would have a price of 16,000 gp (cloak) plus 16,200 gp (cape), for a total of 32,200 gp.

The +5 would have a price of 25,000 gp (cloak) plus 16,200 gp (cape), for a total of 41,200 gp.

Doing this is RAW, but all custom items are at the DMs discetion only. So check with your DM.

MA


Your answers are in the core rulebook. Not digging mine out, so let's go look at the PRD, shall we?

Core Rule Book.
Magic Items link.
Top of page, right side:Magic Item Creation link in menu

Immediately underneath at first table there are several notes. The second one applies.

PRD wrote:
Multiple Different Abilities: Abilities such as an attack roll bonus or saving throw bonus and a spell-like function are not similar, and their values are simply added together to determine the cost. For items that take up a space on a character's body, each additional power not only has no discount but instead has a 50% increase in price.

The rest of your answers are similarly poorly hidden.


1.0: The cost of the 2nd is multiplied by 1.5.

Ok well PF says the second item, but it is better for the player to only mutliplty the lower priced item as it was in 3.5.

Quote:
If the item is one that occupies a specific place on a character's body, the cost of adding any additional ability to that item increases by 50%. For example, if a character adds the power to confer invisibility to her ring of protection +2, the cost of adding this ability is the same as for creating a ring of invisibility multiplied by 1.5.

2.1: Yes, but just like the ring in the example the price would multiply the 2nd item by 1.5 assuming the GM does not change the price. I will also add that "any" item is possible, but it is up to the GM to ok the item and choose the price.

2.2:Once you get into custom items it is more homebrew.

3. See 1.0

4. It is up to the GM.

5. The rules are really guidelines when it comes to custom items. It is more of an art than a science.

PS:I would not allow multiple item stacking to be unlimited. Part of the game is making choices. Do you want the boots of springing and striding or the boots of speed, as an example. An occasional item combination is ok. I am more lenient if the player is crafting their own items though.


Thanks for the answers; it definitely opens a lot more doors for optimizing my character.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Suggestions/House Rules/Homebrew / Wondrous Item Confusion: How does it add up? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.