Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Upgrading equipment question


Pathfinder Society® General Discussion

The Exchange *** Venture-Lieutenant, Washington D.C. aka Grolick

Someone in our local group had a question, and while an answer was provided, I was curious if it was correct.

While you can upgrade a piece of magic gear by paying the difference in cost (like going from +1 to +2 on a weapon), what happens on a stat boost item? If you have a +2 item, and you want the +2 for two stats, is it still considered an upgrade, or do you need a whole new item?

Thanks!


Yes, it is an upgrade.

Note, you cannot make an item that doesn't have it's own listing in the books, so while you can go from a +2 Str belt to either a +4 Str belt OR a +2 Str/+2 Con (for example) belt, you can NOT upgrade to a +4 Str/+2 Con belt, as no such item exists.

Grand Lodge **** Venture-Captain, Pennsylvania—Pittsburgh

IIRC: If you're upgrading the exact same item and only the +X changes, then you can pay the difference. (ie. Ring of Protection +1 to Ring of Protection +2) You cannot do this with other items such as Belt of Giant Strength +2 and Belt of Physical Might +2, as the names of the items are different.

Grand Lodge **** Venture-Captain, Pennsylvania—Pittsburgh

@TwoWolves Even if the names are different?

***** Venture-Captain, Massachusetts—Boston aka Harley Quinn X

Andrew Hoskins wrote:
IIRC: If you're upgrading the exact same item and only the +X changes, then you can pay the difference. (ie. Ring of Protection +1 to Ring of Protection +2) You cannot do this with other items such as Belt of Giant Strength +2 and Belt of Physical Might +2, as the names of the items are different.

Actually, you can go from a Belt of Giant Strength +2 to a Belt of Physical Might +2. Belts and Headbands are an exception like that. See here for a message from Mark Moreland.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / General Discussion / Upgrading equipment question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.