Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Mount and rider - a little question


Rules Questions


can a mounter archer attack and his mount ready an action to run if somebody try to charge them?

Shadow Lodge

I would say no. When you enter a mount/rider mechanical relationship you are substituting the mounts movement for your own. You can't make a full attack and then move, so your mount can't either.

You also cannot ready a full round action, which is what run is.


BigNorseWolf wrote:

I would say no. When you enter a mount/rider mechanical relationship you are substituting the mounts movement for your own. You can't make a full attack and then move, so your mount can't either.

You also cannot ready a full round action, which is what run is.

And what about if the rider uses a standar action nstead of a full attack?

and what if it is not the "run" action but just move?

Grand Lodge

Nicos wrote:
can a mounter archer attack and his mount ready an action to run if somebody try to charge them?

The mount has actions available to ready a move (not a run), but won't do this without a specific trick.

Historically mounted archers and other light cavalry trained themselves and their horses for some well-known specific tactics, so there's good precedent to do this by spending some game resources (tricks, traits or feats) but not just to pull it out of nowhere.


Starglim wrote:
Nicos wrote:
can a mounter archer attack and his mount ready an action to run if somebody try to charge them?

The mount has actions available to ready a move (not a run), but won't do this without a specific trick.

Historically mounted archers and other light cavalry trained themselves and their horses for some well-known specific tactics, so there's good precedent to do this by spending some game resources (tricks, traits or feats) but not just to pull it out of nowhere.

In this case the mount are worgs with 6 in intelligence. The tactic seems fine to mee but i do not know if it is legal by the rules.

Grand Lodge

Nicos wrote:
Starglim wrote:
Nicos wrote:
can a mounter archer attack and his mount ready an action to run if somebody try to charge them?

The mount has actions available to ready a move (not a run), but won't do this without a specific trick.

Historically mounted archers and other light cavalry trained themselves and their horses for some well-known specific tactics, so there's good precedent to do this by spending some game resources (tricks, traits or feats) but not just to pull it out of nowhere.

In this case the mount are worgs with 6 in intelligence. The tactic seems fine to mee but i do not know if it is legal by the rules.

Worgs are magical beasts, so I agree they don't need tricks.

Remember that the mount has taken its turn and chosen all its actions. It can't move unless the trigger condition comes up, until the next round.


Starglim wrote:
Nicos wrote:
Starglim wrote:
Nicos wrote:
can a mounter archer attack and his mount ready an action to run if somebody try to charge them?

The mount has actions available to ready a move (not a run), but won't do this without a specific trick.

Historically mounted archers and other light cavalry trained themselves and their horses for some well-known specific tactics, so there's good precedent to do this by spending some game resources (tricks, traits or feats) but not just to pull it out of nowhere.

In this case the mount are worgs with 6 in intelligence. The tactic seems fine to mee but i do not know if it is legal by the rules.

Worgs are magical beasts, so I agree they don't need tricks.

Remember that the mount has taken its turn and chosen all its actions. It can't move unless the trigger condition comes up, until the next round.

That is a good point , i will take it into account.

Andoran

The move-away-if-charged, and its companion, 5-foot-step-forward-and-attack-if-charged-by-lancer, have been around since 3.5 days. By RAW, yes, this can be done. From a RAI feel, it tends to display a weakness in the rules. Exploiting holes in the rules has a feel to it that is not necessarily agreeable to all playing styles. If done by a GM, it comes off rather poorly from my point of view, but different folks have different styles of play. Full speed ahead if that kind of approach to the rules is what you're seeking to illustrate for your players.


I've worked out a house rule to the "evade charge by readied move" issue. If a charge is interrupted by a ready action, if the original target can no longer be reached by continuing to charge straight ahead, the charger may finish his movement (the amount he had remaining), and veer up to 45 degrees to either side; if he reaches any enemy he can attack that enemy. That includes the original target if he can reach it by veering.

It's still possible to evade an enemy coming from afar with little movement left to veer (which I think is a feature), but the next turn it'll be harder to duplicate that.

I haven't tested this fix yet, but I hope to do so soon.

---

Anyway, I think what the OP wanted to do works, sort-of: you can only ready for a Standard or smaller action, so the mount could Move away, but on a Worg that's still a nice distance I guess, enough to evade someone.

I don't have problems with mounted archers being hard to catch for non-ranged, non-mounted people; they're just faster and deserve the benefits.

Osirion

For a mounted archer, the situation you're describing isn't really necessary. You're using a bow - you just need to stay out of charge range, which is more than possible on a worg.

I'm assuming that you're the DM running the game. What you need to do when running a scenario that involves these kinds of tactics is to change up the ground scale of the tabletop a bit. Instead of a 1" square = 5', make the 1" square = 20' and suddenly you can execute maneuvers that require much more ground (like harassing fire from horse archers). Just attack from outside charge range, and then fire and retreat as the enemy comes closer. (or close and fire if the enemy retreats)


The tactic (assuming only a standard action from rider) is perfectly valid and a good one.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Mount and rider - a little question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.