Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

4-01 Rise of the Goblin Guild (spoilers)


Pathfinder Society GM Discussion

Silver Crusade ****

The Necklace of Fireballs description says:

Quote:
If the necklace is being worn or carried by a character who fails her saving throw against a magical fire attack, the item must make a saving throw as well (with a save bonus of +7). If the necklace fails to save, all its remaining spheres detonate simultaneously, often with regrettable consequences for the wearer.

Do alchemist's bombs count as magical fire attacks for this purpose?

Sovereign Court **

I came across this thread that seems to give a pretty good answer. But in all honesty I don't think there's an official answer out on this.

I would say yes though.

****

Bombs are listed as (Su) so yes

*** Venture-Lieutenant, Tennessee—Kingsport , Marathon Voter 2013, Dedicated Voter 2014, Star Voter 2015 aka RainyDayNinja

The weird thing is that you only get a reflex save against the splash damage, not a direct hit. So a direct hit doesn't risk setting off the necklace, but missing with the bomb and only catching them in the spash radius does.

Grand Lodge ** RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32 , Marathon Voter 2013, Dedicated Voter 2014, Star Voter 2015

Approximately as weird as the fact that you could fail your save against 1d4 damage from a wand of burning hands and find yourself in a mushroom cloud, but getting critted by scorching ray for 8d6 fire damage will never ever detonate the necklace. Go figure.

Liberty's Edge **

I believe the popular excuse goes "It's magic".

But what really has me scratching my head is why are all the goblins alchemists?!?! They don't read. What do they do with their Formula books?

Liberty's Edge **** Venture-Captain, Washington—Seattle aka The Great Rinaldo!

I suppose it is possible that their formulas are written as pictograms of some sort, but that then makes me wonder if a PC alchemist recovers a goblin's formulary, can he scribe the spells from it?

Shadow Lodge **

Formulas are generally equations, not words, so they should be universal, at least to alchemists (just like spell book writings are to wizards).

***

1 person marked this as a favorite.

STOP STEALING MY WORDS!!!

****

Goblin spell books are written in smell.

Dark Archive * Star Voter 2015

You can also do pictograms for a formula book with ease; not so much with a set of complicated instructions related to the arcane mechanics behind a magic missile spell.

I imagine Goblin Formula books consist of crudely drawn pictures in crayon of what all it takes to make the hurt stop.

Scarab Sages ***

bdk86 wrote:

You can also do pictograms for a formula book with ease; not so much with a set of complicated instructions related to the arcane mechanics behind a magic missile spell.

I imagine Goblin Formula books consist of crudely drawn pictures in crayon of what all it takes to make the hurt stop.

I swear I read somewhere that this was the case, but I can't find the information now. I thought is was in a Blog post about the ARG, but my search-fu is off today.

EDIT: Found it here

Goblins of Golarion wrote:

Goblins of Golarion explains how things like spellbooks and formula books for wizards, magi, and alchemists work for goblins. A preview:

There's not a lot of goblin wizards, magi, and alchemists, but those who do generally follow one of two options:

1) They're one of the rare goblins who isn't afraid of writing and thus keep a normal spellbook or formula book. If they're loners, that's that. If they live in a goblin tribe, they have to keep their book well hidden and secret or they'll be exiled or worse.

2) Far more rare even than the goblin who's not afraid of words are the goblins who figure out alternative ways to recored spells and formulas. Generally, these "books" are more like picture books, filled with drawings and sketches of their spells and formulas. Books like these are generally useless to anyone other than the goblin who created them, but they can show them off in (goblin) public without getting "runoft", tied to a burning thing, fed to pets, flayed, poked lots with sharp stuff, held underwater, pressed with heavy stones, or whatever their tribe feels like doing to weirdos that day.

**** Venture-Captain, Pennsylvania—Philadelphia

Way too many threads on this scenario, hope this is the right one.

Anyway I'm coordinating this for a game damn this weekend and the GM running this has asked me about one of the creatures in the book and how to advance it.

Spoiler:
The Duskhound, it seems it has a reference to Goblins of Golarion and is a variant race, but Goblins of Golarion isn't on the prd and neither me nor the player have that book. And the creature doesn't get a full stat block.

Any help on that creature would be appreciated.

Grand Lodge ** Dedicated Voter 2013, Star Voter 2014, Star Voter 2015

Jeffrey Fox wrote:

Way too many threads on this scenario, hope this is the right one.

Anyway I'm coordinating this for a game damn this weekend and the GM running this has asked me about one of the creatures in the book and how to advance it.

** spoiler omitted **

Any help on that creature would be appreciated.

Spoiler:
Advanced Creature template

The duskhound also has darkvision as stated.

**** Venture-Captain, Pennsylvania—Philadelphia

Starglim wrote:
Jeffrey Fox wrote:

Way too many threads on this scenario, hope this is the right one.

Anyway I'm coordinating this for a game damn this weekend and the GM running this has asked me about one of the creatures in the book and how to advance it.

** spoiler omitted **

Any help on that creature would be appreciated.

** spoiler omitted **

Spoiler:
Ok, so it's just a normal advanced goblin dog with darkvision added. Cool. I wasn't sure if the Duskhound added anymore than that.

Thank you.

*** Contributor, RPG Superstar 2010 , Dedicated Voter 2013, Dedicated Voter 2014

Here's a link for your GM, it's got some extra art, and a google doc with the variant monsters already done.
*link*

****

I ran this for four players this weekend. They had a blast

Spoiler:

They were really tired of alchemists fire by the end of the session though. Though the rogue and wizard were happy to 'return' fire. The fun point at the end was the group brought Ekkie with them and the bug bear demanded she turn on them in goblin.

Had he ordered her to do the Rogue.. it might have worked but she told Ekkie to kill the wizard. Her FRIEND! The person who gave her fire and daggers and more fire.. She

Fun was had by all. The Rogue even laughed as Ekkie kept trying to set him on fire with an Everburning torch.

Liberty's Edge ***

A barbarian in the group I ran upon reaching the last encounter said "Charging hasn't worked yet down here, so that means it will work this time." There was laughing by all when it didn't.

Grand Lodge *

This is a great adventure - had a blast with it.

Grand Lodge ** RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32 , Marathon Voter 2013, Dedicated Voter 2014, Star Voter 2015

Helaman wrote:
This is a great adventure - had a blast with it.

I see what you did there. ;)

Grand Lodge *

:)

Grand Lodge ****

Samish Lakefinder wrote:
A barbarian in the group I ran upon reaching the last encounter said "Charging hasn't worked yet down here, so that means it will work this time." There was laughing by all when it didn't.

Funny the fighter learned her lesson at the first encounter.

Grand Lodge ** RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32 , Marathon Voter 2013, Dedicated Voter 2014, Star Voter 2015

My group never did find out what was in the middle of the last room... But after finding out what was in the hallway, I was personally okay with that.

Good thing a cleric can channel from inside an ooze. :/

Lantern Lodge *** Venture-Lieutenant, Maryland— Baltimore aka dragonkitten

I am prepping to run the scenario this weekend and I have some confusion about the items available for purchase on the chronicle sheet.

Spoiler:
Sub-tier 1-2 has: brooch of shielding (40 points remaining; 600 gp, limit 1) and necklace of fireballs (type II) (two 2d6 spheres; 600 gp, limit 1); while sub-tier 4-5 has brooch of shielding (15 points remaining; 225 gp, limit 1) and necklace of fireballs (type I) (1,650 gp).

Am I just confused or are there some sort of mix up here? Are these items listed in the correct sub-tiers? I could very well just be confused. It happens often. Thanks for any help.

Grand Lodge ** RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32 , Marathon Voter 2013, Dedicated Voter 2014, Star Voter 2015

...What exactly is your question? You mentioned some items on the sheet, then just said you're confused. What is it you'd like to understand?

Lantern Lodge *** Venture-Lieutenant, Maryland— Baltimore aka dragonkitten

Jiggy wrote:
...What exactly is your question? You mentioned some items on the sheet, then just said you're confused. What is it you'd like to understand?

Sorry I didn't make it more clear. I wanted to make sure the items were listed under the correct sub-tier. It looks to me that each could reasonably be in the opposite sub-tier.

****

It's correct, just kinda weird.

Lantern Lodge *** Venture-Lieutenant, Maryland— Baltimore aka dragonkitten

Mike Lindner wrote:
It's correct, just kinda weird.

Thank you for the answer. Even though it was a dumb question. :D

*

Pathfinder Card Game, Modules Subscriber

Can anyone make sense of the optional encounter time limit? The scenario says that if you have less then 90 minutes left you should skip it. Seeing it is the second to last encounter I am baffled by this, the last two encounters are not that time consuming are they?

In other words, is the 90 minute time limit realistic?

Other question:
Goblin Sharpers (page 17) have melee attack: dogslicer +5 / mwk horsechopper -1. I think the horsechopper should be +3 (Str +1, Small +1, Masterwork weapon +1). Am I correct?

*** Contributor, RPG Superstar 2010 , Dedicated Voter 2013, Dedicated Voter 2014

The time limit is more for convention play where you have to sign chronicles, do day job rolls, etc and another group needs to be seated at the table in 90 min. If you think you can do them both in the remaining time (and you think the players will enjoy both of them), go for it.

The PDF has the goblin sharpers, as rogues with rogue weapon proficiencies, not being proficient with their horsechoppers. They really should be as they can trade the racial trait: Skilled for Weapon Familiarity to get it. I don't think it will make much difference to how long they will last.

*

Pathfinder Card Game, Modules Subscriber

Thanks!

The -4 difference should have triggered me as being a non-prof penalty.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / Pathfinder Society GM Discussion / 4-01 Rise of the Goblin Guild (spoilers) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society GM Discussion

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.