Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

dungeon darkness


Beginner Box


Hello,

I am new to pathfinder and just got the beginner box and I have been looking through the Core Rules as well and I have some questions about darkness.

When players are relying on a torch or lantern to see and they enter a room in which there are monsters, do I wait until the monsters are in view range of the players before telling them about the monsters and place the monster pieces on the map?

In the Core rules, if a player is blind, I don't quite understand how they can pinpoint the monster, do you roll a percentile die with a 50% chance of picking the correct square?

Thanks


Hello, and welcome to the fray!

Commander_Groo wrote:
When players are relying on a torch or lantern to see and they enter a room in which there are monsters, do I wait until the monsters are in view range of the players before telling them about the monsters and place the monster pieces on the map?
Yes, unless they manage to hear/smell or otherwise detect the monsters. Then you tell them, but don't show them - yet.
Quote:
In the Core rules, if a player is blind, I don't quite understand how they can pinpoint the monster, do you roll a percentile die with a 50% chance of picking the correct square?

The Blinded condition is complicated. It's usually easier to think of it as a boon to the enemy, rather then a condition of the victim.

All enemies of the blinded character (and all allies too, for that matter) have "total concealment". Which means that
  1. You have to "guess" where they are, and
  2. You have a good chance of missing, should you try to attack them.
"b" is the part that gives a 50% chance of missing, and "a" is a Perception check to spot an "invisible" enemy. So in a situation where you are blinded and want to hit the Orc anyway:
  1. You roll a DC 40 Perception check.
  2. If you beat the DC, you know what square the Orc is in. If not, you cannot make any attack.
  3. Assuming you made the roll, you make an attack roll as normal.
  4. If the attack misses, it... eh... misses.
  5. If it hits, flip a coin. Heads, you really hit. Tails, you miss after all due to the "total concealment".
So really: the odds of landing a decent hit are pretty bad. You're usually better off doing something to undo your blindness, or taking the "total defence" action.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Beginner Box / dungeon darkness All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Beginner Box

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.