Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Continual Flame marked on a Chronicle


Pathfinder Society GM Discussion

The Exchange ****

Other than in the "condition gained" box, is there a procedure for marking that the PC has gained a Continual Flame cast on some item of equipment?

For example, a rogue PC has 7th level Cleric PC that he is adventuring with cast Continual Flame on one of his daggers. I as the judge mark his chronical with the note: "3rd level Continual Flame cast by a 7th level cleric (PC Name and #) on Masterwork Cold Iron Dagger."
Does this cover what we need?
What else might we (as judges) need to note?

OH! and can/must the Rogue PC supply the material component for the spell (50gp value)?

Has anyone else already judged games where this has come up? how did you note it?

Thank you all for your imput!

Liberty's Edge **** Venture-Captain, Washington—Seattle aka The Great Rinaldo!

I would expect the notation in Conditions Gained as you indicated would be good for the recordkeeping portion.

Personally, I would think the player should pay for the component (noting it as gold spent), but I think that could fall under the "characters can pool resources for spellcasting services" clause, and anyone who wanted to could do so, including everyone chipping in 10 gold, if the party agreed to id.

Grand Lodge ** Dedicated Voter 2013, Star Voter 2014

nosig wrote:
OH! and can/must the Rogue PC supply the material component for the spell (50gp value)?

The rogue can supply or pay for the material component and an NPC would certainly expect him to do so. However players can expend their supplies to benefit other party members if they choose. It's similar to a PC cleric using her material components for raise dead, which also applies a benefit (not being dead) that lasts beyond the scenario.

Dark Archive **** Dedicated Voter 2013

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Yup... looks good the way you have it IMO ^_^

The Exchange ****

1 person marked this as a favorite.

great - that's the way I've did it and I'm glad to see that it'll work.
I did figure it was improtant to note both the the level of the spell, and the CL - just in case there is attempts to dispel it.

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, California—Fresno aka Sarta

As a note, everburning and ioun torches count toward this limit. Since magic items are at lowest caster level unless specified, the spell on everburning torches is a level 2 wizard spell cast by a 3rd level wizard. Ioun torch, on the other hand, specifies that it has a caster level of 12.

Shadow Lodge *** Dedicated Voter 2014

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hmmm.. if you're a caster with heighten spell can you heighten your own continual flame up to level 3 to ignore those deeper darkness spells?

The Exchange ** RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16, Contributor

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Good one BNW.

You say that as if someone in PFS has a caster with the Heighten Spell metamagic feat.

The Exchange ****

BigNorseWolf wrote:
Hmmm.. if you're a caster with heighten spell can you heighten your own continual flame up to level 3 to ignore those deeper darkness spells?

or just get your friendly cleric to cast it for you and get the judge to note it on the Chronical. (remembering that each PC can only have one.).

The Exchange ****

Will Johnson wrote:

As a note, everburning and ioun torches count toward this limit. Since magic items are at lowest caster level unless specified, the spell on everburning torches is a level 2 wizard spell cast by a 3rd level wizard. Ioun torch, on the other hand, specifies that it has a caster level of 12.

Are you saying that a PC may only have one Everburning Torch or Ioun Torch?

Do the new rules for Continual Flame spells include standard wonderous items? I had not considered this. Does anyone else read it that way?

Dark Archive **** Star Voter 2013

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Maps, Modules Subscriber

No, as those are wondrous items, not tracked spells cast.

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, California—Fresno aka Sarta

TetsujinOni wrote:
No, as those are wondrous items, not tracked spells cast.

They are objects with continual flame cast on them. If one is only permitted a single item with continual flame on it, then these count as well.

Shadow Lodge *** Dedicated Voter 2014

Dennis Baker wrote:

Good one BNW.

You say that as if someone in PFS has a caster with the Heighten Spell metamagic feat.

If i can carry around a continual flame rock with heighten on it i might.

If i can start passing them around to people i definitely will :)

Hmmm.. could that work? How would that work? On the one hand someone giving me a 50 gp component to cast a spell would be a wealth transfer from them to me (technically) While me giving up 50gp to cast a spell on their stuff would be a wealth transfer from me to them.

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, California—Fresno aka Sarta

If the person wants continual flame cast on something of theirs and they want your character to do so, they can provide the material components. It's no more a wealth transfer than handing a cleric a scroll you would like them to cast on you.

I know that my high level characters carry diamond dust and diamonds in case they need a restoration or raise dead mid game. Expecting the healer to always foot the bill for these components is selfish and unrealistic.

If you want to be supremely legalistic, the caster is "borrowing" the components and then losing them in the casting of the spell.

Dark Archive **** Star Voter 2013

7 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Staff response: no reply required.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Maps, Modules Subscriber

Will, an everburning torch is an item of gear, not a magic item and would appear to me to be not what is intended for this new rule. By opening an opportunity for a long-duration spell to be cast, we have introduced a new restriction on owning multiple functional ioun torches for passing around to other players? Please, that's just not right.

Owning both an ioun torch and an everburning torch, or multiple ioun torches seem not unlikely courses of events; and having them count as the tracked long-duration spell is a particularly "reaching" and counter-intuitive ruling. Flagged for FAQ.

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, California—Fresno aka Sarta

I will happily flag it so as well. Perhaps M&M will comment.

It is just my understanding that one can only have the one.

Grand Lodge ** RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32 , Marathon Voter 2013, Dedicated Voter 2014

Fun fact: there's a legal aasimar variant with continual flame as a 1/day SLA. Of course you can still only carry one past the end of the scenario, but during the scenario...

Throaty Mermaid:
You start by sailing for something like 50 days. That means you could have the ship's sails and 40-some-odd of its planks flaming as you sail the seas.

Rebel's Ransom:
It's several days out to the tomb. By that time, your fighter's armor, boots, gloves, helmet, weapon and shield could all be on fire.

First Steps 3:
Arrive to the relic negotiation with every party member carrying a flaming fish fork.

The Exchange ****

Jiggy wrote:

Fun fact: there's a legal aasimar variant with continual flame as a 1/day SLA. Of course you can still only carry one past the end of the scenario, but during the scenario...

** spoiler omitted **

** spoiler omitted **

** spoiler omitted **

does the Spell Like Ability (SLA) require the material component? if so, this could get costly! (but fun - I picture "fire arrows" that can't be put out by tossing a bucket of water on them, but never seem to start the building on fire.)


1 person marked this as a favorite.
nosig wrote:
Jiggy wrote:

Fun fact: there's a legal aasimar variant with continual flame as a 1/day SLA. Of course you can still only carry one past the end of the scenario, but during the scenario...

** spoiler omitted **

** spoiler omitted **

** spoiler omitted **

does the Spell Like Ability (SLA) require the material component? if so, this could get costly! (but fun - I picture "fire arrows" that can't be put out by tossing a bucket of water on them, but never seem to start the building on fire.)

Spell-like abilities by definition do not require components.

Where this actually starts to get icky is when the aasimar makes himself an everburning torch this way, then wants to sell it...how is that resolved?

The Exchange ** RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16, Contributor

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I use the core rules to resolve issues like that.

This is the big problem with going digital, it's hard to smack someone upside the head with a PDF.

Dark Archive **** Dedicated Voter 2013

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
FiddlersGreen wrote:
Where this actually starts to get icky is when the aasimar makes himself an everburning torch this way, then wants to sell it...how is that resolved?

At that point, the spell stops functioning as soon as it leaves their possession as per the standard end-of-scenario rules - the shop-keep realizes he's been gyped, takes his money back and probably give the player a few new bruises ^_^


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Justin Riddler wrote:
FiddlersGreen wrote:
Where this actually starts to get icky is when the aasimar makes himself an everburning torch this way, then wants to sell it...how is that resolved?
At that point, the spell stops functioning as soon as it leaves their possession as per the standard end-of-scenario rules - the shop-keep realizes he's been gyped, takes his money back and probably give the player a few new bruises ^_^

Would you call that a de-light-ful situation?

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / Pathfinder Society GM Discussion / Continual Flame marked on a Chronicle All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society GM Discussion

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.