Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Question about enchanting weapons.


Pathfinder Society® General Discussion

Silver Crusade

So I'm pretty new... done three sessions... and got two very different explanations about how to purchase things in PFS.

Say I want a +1 Agile Shortsword. That would cost lots... 8k+. I have already purchased a Masterwork shortsword...

So, if I understand things correctly, I could already (if I had the GP on my sheet) make that masterwork shortsword +1, because that's listed in the "always available" section.

To give it that specific enchantment (Agile) what would I need to do?

I *think* I need to wait until my FAME reaches a certain level. (right?)

Do I need to wait until the fame covers the cost of the WHOLE +1 Agile enchant, or do I just need the fame to cover the cost difference going from "+1" to "+1 Agile"?

IS there some way to "buy" a weapon like this through PP?

I THINK that if I were to find a "+1 agile shortsword" on a chronicle sheet, it wouldn't matter what my fame was, as long as I had GP...

Any advice is helpful!!

** RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16, RPG Superstar 2013 Top 16

You need enough fame to pay for the entire +1 Agile shortsword (8k + masterwork + weapon). But you're right that the fame requirement is waived if it shows up on a chronicle sheet. Sadly, there's no way to buy something for more than 750 gp using Prestige Points.

Silver Crusade

RainyDayNinja wrote:
You need enough fame to pay for the entire +1 Agile shortsword (8k + masterwork + weapon). But you're right that the fame requirement is waived if it shows up on a chronicle sheet. Sadly, there's no way to buy something for more than 750 gp using Prestige Points.

Thanks! 21 more fame to go...

And I can "automatically" buy it if I meet the fame requirement, have the GP and go to a session... right? Or is there in-game stuff to do to get access to a specific enchantment like that?

Andoran **** Venture-Captain, Washington—Seattle aka The Great Rinaldo!

Yes, once you have the minimum fame and the gold, you can purchase it as long as you are in a city of sufficient size (which every scenario I have played in so far has started out in, but it is possible a few do not).

Grand Lodge ** RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

The Great Rinaldo! wrote:
...as long as you are in a city of sufficient size (which every scenario I have played in so far has started out in, but it is possible a few do not).

Between scenarios, you can be pretty much wherever you want to be. Buy your sweet sword in Absalom during the un-tracked downtime between scenarios.

*

Just had a side thought here:
Everyone says "or if it shows up on a Chronicle," but my understanding (and PLEASE, correct me if this is wrong) is that items on the chronicle come as-is, at the cost as-written. So (for example) if the OP above has his +1 Shortsword already (2310g invested = 2000g [+1] + 300g [Masterwork] + 10g [Sword, short]) his additional cost to upgrade to +1 Agile Shortsword (when he has enough fame) will be 6000g (total 8310g spent).

If there happens to be a +1 Agile Shortsword on a chronicle AT THIS POINT, and he wants to get it right now, he spends 8310g, and now has a +1 Agile Shortsword and a +1 Shortsword. (i.e. he doesn't get to use the upgrade rules to get something that he has on a chronicle--he just gets to buy the item outright, right?)

***

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Odea wrote:

Just had a side thought here:

Everyone says "or if it shows up on a Chronicle," but my understanding (and PLEASE, correct me if this is wrong) is that items on the chronicle come as-is, at the cost as-written. So (for example) if the OP above has his +1 Shortsword already (2310g invested = 2000g [+1] + 300g [Masterwork] + 10g [Sword, short]) his additional cost to upgrade to +1 Agile Shortsword (when he has enough fame) will be 6000g (total 8310g spent).

If there happens to be a +1 Agile Shortsword on a chronicle AT THIS POINT, and he wants to get it right now, he spends 8310g, and now has a +1 Agile Shortsword and a +1 Shortsword. (i.e. he doesn't get to use the upgrade rules to get something that he has on a chronicle--he just gets to buy the item outright, right?)

I don't think that's explicitly spelled out anywhere, but as long as there is *access*, he can upgrade to it.

The prestige access, after all, is access to the sword, not access to an upgrade (which is why you need enough fame to cover the whole cost); in effect, prestige access and chronicle access are the same thing.

Qadira ***

David Haller wrote:
Odea wrote:

Just had a side thought here:

Everyone says "or if it shows up on a Chronicle," but my understanding (and PLEASE, correct me if this is wrong) is that items on the chronicle come as-is, at the cost as-written. So (for example) if the OP above has his +1 Shortsword already (2310g invested = 2000g [+1] + 300g [Masterwork] + 10g [Sword, short]) his additional cost to upgrade to +1 Agile Shortsword (when he has enough fame) will be 6000g (total 8310g spent).

If there happens to be a +1 Agile Shortsword on a chronicle AT THIS POINT, and he wants to get it right now, he spends 8310g, and now has a +1 Agile Shortsword and a +1 Shortsword. (i.e. he doesn't get to use the upgrade rules to get something that he has on a chronicle--he just gets to buy the item outright, right?)

I don't think that's explicitly spelled out anywhere, but as long as there is *access*, he can upgrade to it.

The prestige access, after all, is access to the sword, not access to an upgrade (which is why you need enough fame to cover the whole cost); in effect, prestige access and chronicle access are the same thing.

David, while at first glance I would agree with you, I'm not sure and will want to wait to see what other persons say. It seems to me that if the +1 Agile Shortsword granted access to upgrade the +1 Shortsword, some people would say that it gives access to upgrade a +1 Spiked Chain to +1 Agile... which strikes me odd. So... that's I FAQd your response. Maybe The Powers That Be will chime in on this.

*

RainyDayNinja wrote:
You need enough fame to pay for the entire +1 Agile shortsword (8k + masterwork + weapon).

I wish it said this in the guide or in the PFS FAQ or something.

It doesn't make sense to me to require 27 fame (11,750 gp) to get a +2 weapon enchantment, when 22 fame allows you to spend the 8,000 gold which is what you're actually paying. You already have the weapon, you're just buying the enchantment.

Maybe what the fame table represents is not "how much you are allowed to spend" but rather "You may not possess an item worth more than this unless it is on a chronicle sheet" ?

That would make the answer I got on upgrading an arcane bond make sense, since it's not about what I paid (3k) it's about what the item is then otherwise worth (8,315).

Qadira *** Venture-Captain, Texas—Dallas & Ft. Worth aka Thorkull

Steg wrote:
"You may not possess an item worth more than this unless it is on a chronicle sheet" ?

This is probably the best way to think about it. Otherwise, you wind up in weird situations where a person upgrading a weapon or armor can wind up with a more expensive item than the person buying it outright. That doesn't make any sense, so the limit is on the total value of the item, not on the amount spent at a single time.

***** Venture-Lieutenant, Georgia—Atlanta aka CRobledo

RainyDayNinja wrote:
Sadly, there's no way to buy something for more than 750 gp using Prestige Points.

A certain GenCon boon would have something to say about this :P

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / General Discussion / Question about enchanting weapons. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.