Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

How does one overrun on a charge?


Rules Questions


5 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The overrun combat maneuver says you can perform it during a charge.

What does that mean exactly? Can I overrun the bodyguard on a charge in order to lop the wizard's head off?

If so, how does one reconcile that with the following text from the charge rules?

You must have a clear path toward the opponent, and nothing can hinder your movement (such as difficult terrain or obstacles). You must move to the closest space from which you can attack the opponent. If this space is occupied or otherwise blocked, you can't charge. If any line from your starting space to the ending space passes through a square that blocks movement, slows movement, or contains a creature (even an ally), you can't charge.

Star Voter 2013

An Overrun is a standard action, so you do it instead of attacking.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Seems I'm not alone in my confusion.

Thanks Quixote, but that isn't at all clear in the RAW.

Star Voter 2013

Ravingdork wrote:

The overrun combat maneuver says you can perform it during a charge.

What does that mean exactly? Can I overrun the bodyguard on a charge in order to lop the wizard's head off?

If so, how does one reconcile that with the following text from the charge rules?

You must have a clear path toward the opponent, and nothing can hinder your movement (such as difficult terrain or obstacles). You must move to the closest space from which you can attack the opponent. If this space is occupied or otherwise blocked, you can't charge. If any line from your starting space to the ending space passes through a square that blocks movement, slows movement, or contains a creature (even an ally), you can't charge.

I was wondering that myself.

1) if the target avoid you then I suposse that you cn continue your charge normaly, afther all if the target let you pass then it is not blocking you.

2) If you can overrun the target then it is not longer blocking you so you can continue your charge.

My answers are "how i would rule" not stric RAW because i belive in this case the rules as written is self contradictory.

Star Voter 2013

Ravingdork wrote:

Seems I'm not alone in my confusion.

Thanks Quixote, but that isn't at all clear in the RAW.

Where is the anwer ?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

There isn't one. I've started a missing FAQ compilation thread in hopes of getting one.

Liberty's Edge

This is one of those "Was errata'd in D&D 3.5, but was included in PF based upon the system of converting the SRD to PF" things.

Sczarni

I always thought it was like doing Acrobatics as part of a charge...attempt to run through an enemy but if you fail you stop dead and wasted a charge where you are now standing in front of the body guard with -2 AC. I will FAQ for clarity though.


I find its often best nit to read more into rules than is there. An over run charge is a double move with an over run in place of an attack.is it poorly worded? Yup but a double move attack and an overrun would make no sense with the rest of the rules. Would be no reason not to over run every charge.

Sczarni

Charge should also grant +2 on Overrun same as bull rush, but it's not written also.


Dotting for future reference. Malag seems to have a good point too.

Liberty's Edge

Anecdotally, one of the reasons why overrun-on-a-charge was errata'd out of 3.5 was the tactic of charging through an ally, using the overrun to give him the option of stepping out of the way, then completing the charge to the desired target.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / How does one overrun on a charge? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.