Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Question about buying equipment


Pathfinder Society® General Discussion

Andoran

Hey, all -

Sorry for the late query, but I kind of need to know this, as I need to determine whether I have an invalid character on my hands and need to come up with a new one for a Gencon game tomorrow morning at 8 - Yoi.

Obviously, I'm kind of new to Society Play. We recently converted our home game to a Society game, so I think that we may have made a kind of crucial error.

Am I reading correctly that I cannot buy anything from my faction until I complete three scenarios, thus accumulating 6 fame (5 is the number on the chart, but I'm not sure how I'd even arrive at 5)?

In short, I bought a +1 Greatsword at level 2... that's not permitted, is it?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

***** Venture-Lieutenant, Arizona—Tucson aka Sir_Wulf

That is OK.... Go kick some tail tomorrow morning!

Characters always have access to +1 weapons, shields, and armor, 1st level scrolls and potions (the ones that cost 50 gp), and regular items on the equipment lists, including most special materials.

I also recommend that you have a missile weapon (at least some javelins or a sling), a potion or two, a couple flasks of alchemist's fire or acid, and a one-handed weapon suitable for use while grappled.

Andoran

Phew - OK, thanks, James! Out of curiousity, then, what is the purpose of the Fame and Item Purchases chart (it's 5-3 in the newest guide to organized play)? It's a little confusing, if it doesn't mean what I thought it did...

Thanks again, man!


If you read the guide to organized play, it has a list of items that are "always available", meaning you can always buy them as long as you have enough gold. Some of those items are +1 weapons and armors, 1st lv potions and scrolls and all mundane items. Also, any item on a chronicle sheet is considered always available, so you can buy them as soon as you have the gold. You would need at least 5 fame to buy anything that is not considered "always available".

***** Venture-Lieutenant, Arizona—Tucson aka Sir_Wulf

After you have 5 points of fame, you gain access to other items worth up to 500 gp. These include some low-end miscellaneous magic items, guns, scrolls of second or third-level spells, or second-level potions. These items are not specifically spelled out. Interesting (but cheap) items include feather tokens and flawed or cracked ioun stones.

You also have access to anything shown on your character's chronicle sheets.

***** Venture-Lieutenant, Arizona—Tucson aka Sir_Wulf

You should generally hoard your fame so that you'll have it if you need a raise dead, but there are other uses that you may want to consider. One popular option is to request your faction "loan" you an item: For two points, they'll let you have an item worth up to 750 gp. Many characters grab a 1st level wand, typically cure light wounds or infernal healing. Mage armor is also very useful if you've got a sorcerer who doesn't want to use a spell slot for that purpose, you have an animal companion, or travel with a monk.

Andoran

OK, got it - yeah, I also picked up a wand of CLW by spending 2PP, as I saw that it was essentially protocol and didn't want to be the only guy at the table without his own.

I super-promise that I did read the Guide - a few times, even - this particular point was just, I don't know, confusing to me for some reason. It's like that moment when you think you're prepared for a test, but then you give the textbook one last go-over to make sure you didn't miss anything, and it's like "I don't know ANY of this stuff!!" You know?

Anyway, thanks a ton for the last-minute help. I am off to slay enemies in the name of the Grand Lodge!

Lantern Lodge

James MacKenzie wrote:
Many characters grab a 1st level wand, typically cure light wounds or infernal healing.

Quick question - Can you acquire a Wand of Infernal Healing using two PP? Doesn't it cost more than 750 gp? It's my understanding that if a spell requires a costly component, then you need to provide 50 of such component when creating a wand, thus increasing its base cost. Infernal healing requires Unholy Water which costs 25 gp. So wouldn't a wand of Infernal Healing cost 2,000 gp (750 + (25 x 50))?

Core pg 496 - "The price of a wand is equal to the level of the spell ×the creator’s caster level × 750 gp. If the wand has a material component cost, it is added to the base price and cost to create once for each charge (50 × material component cost)."

I guess since the spell says a drop of devil's blood OR a dose of unholy water, and since devil's blood doesn't have a gp value, you could declare that you have devil's blood for free and there's no additional cost for scrolls, potions or wands of Infernal Healing?

Has there been any comment or ruling from the powers that be (PFS or Paizo) one way or the other? I'd love to get a Wand of Infernal Healing!

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

The material component for Infernal Healing is a dose of unholy water. As no cost is given in the spell, the dose has a less then 1 gp cost and doesn't need to be tracked. The wand's price is not increased.

25 gp is for a flask of unholy water.

One may assume a dose is much smaller than a flask. Or your suggestion as to a drop of devil blood also works.

Of course, Infernal Healing is an evil spell, so a paladin or good cleric may want to avoid the spell or wand entirely.

Cheliax *** Venture-Captain, Virginia—Richmond

I think the question is what is considered a "dose" of unholy water. I don't recall there being any useful unit less than a full flask. Of course I don't really read up on such evil things so I could be wrong.

Grand Lodge ** RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Doesn't matter what a "dose" is. No cost for the material components is specified in the spell description, so it's considered negligible. So whether it makes you feel better to think of it as being a smaller amount of water, too high a markup on flasks, or wandmakers using the blood instead, it doesn't matter - the end result is the wand costs 750gp.

****

Jeremiziah wrote:


Am I reading correctly that I cannot buy anything from my faction until I complete three scenarios, thus accumulating 6 fame (5 is the number on the chart, but I'm not sure how I'd even arrive at 5)?

You could arrive at 5 because you're not guaranteed to get 2 every time, since you could fail a faction mission.

Andoran

Matt Haddix wrote:
Jeremiziah wrote:


Am I reading correctly that I cannot buy anything from my faction until I complete three scenarios, thus accumulating 6 fame (5 is the number on the chart, but I'm not sure how I'd even arrive at 5)?
You could arrive at 5 because you're not guaranteed to get 2 every time, since you could fail a faction mission.

Ah, yes- as I did this morning. Curse you, faction mission ABSOLUTELY REQUIRING Knowledge: Planes. I am a dwarf fighter. Who is an athiest. I mean, come ON.

Edit to say: my GM tried...she really did. She was a very good sport. I know this has been discussed a lot, though...so I won't aim to do that here. Suffice it to say, very frustrating.

Cheliax ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion Subscriber
Captain Zoom wrote:

I guess since the spell says a drop of devil's blood OR a dose of unholy water, and since devil's blood doesn't have a gp value, you could declare that you have devil's blood for free and there's no additional cost for scrolls, potions or wands of Infernal Healing?

Emphasis is mine. You have the correct method of thinking ^_^ Now go forth and bestow the healing powers of Asmodeus!! (except to paladins)

***** Venture-Lieutenant, Arizona—Tucson aka Sir_Wulf

Matt Haddix wrote:
You could arrive at 5 because you're not guaranteed to get 2 every time, since you could fail a faction mission.
Jeremiziah wrote:
Ah, yes- as I did this morning. Curse you, faction mission ABSOLUTELY REQUIRING Knowledge: Planes. I am a dwarf fighter. Who is an athiest. I mean, come ON.

The expectation is that not every character will succeed on every faction mission. Sometimes they just won't have the right skill set, sometimes they just don't want to (Such as a paladin whose mission deals with sketchy characters or assassination), and sometimes things just don't work out (The party goes left when they needed to look right). You don't need to score every point every time.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / General Discussion / Question about buying equipment All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.