Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

PFSOP regarding items that create other items


Pathfinder Society® General Discussion

Scarab Sages

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the FAQ.

In organized play, say you buy a rod of wonder and your roll gets the "shoots forth many gems 1gp each" or you have a robe of useful items and you pull out a masterwork dagger or something...

Do you add the money from the gems to your chonicle? do you add the dagger to your equipment? Technically- these things were already earned/paid for by virtue of the items expense... Or does the number of patches on your robe get replenished (i.e. the dagger "turns back into a patch" at the end of the scenario) and...well, in the case of the gems from your rod- you can used them to pay for things until the end of the scenario? (bribes, temple donations, Ale and Wenches...etc)

-BTW, Should I assume that GMs arent allowed to use the "fun" random "Rod of Wonder" charts? (dangerous derv and so on...) Or does Organized Play offer a little flexibility in the "Wild Magic"/Random Effect dept? :P

Dark Archive **** Venture-Captain, Virginia—Richmond

I'm not sure enough on the primary question to answer it well. However on the second bit, yeah, stock tables only.

Scarab Sages

the question is simple and straightforward- If you use the rod of wonder, the possibility exists that it will spew forth a pile of gems (each worth 1gp) so, if you get 50 gems, does the GM add +50gp to your character for "treasure" you randomly created from your wand. I mean- technically you could treat it as a bonus to your day job roll...(maybe you used the gems to adorn the item you crafted?)
If your "Robe of useful items" creates an item, do you add it to your equipment or convert it to gold and add it to your chronicle? Or what?

Paizo Employee ***** Global Organized Play Coordinator

Add what ever is created by the magic item to your characters inventory.

Scarab Sages

Michael Brock wrote:
Add what ever is created by the magic item to your characters inventory.

cool! at least i wont lose more money on them, and at best maybe they can pay for themselves eventually...

Dark Archive ****

How does this fit in with something like:

1. Robe of Bones
2. Golem Manual

I already have one or two players who are plotting devious things with this ruling...

Paizo Employee ***** Pathfinder Society Campaign Coordinator

8 people marked this as a favorite.

Once they start plotting devious things, and making the game unfun for the rest of the players because they feel they need to break the game or win the game, I will look and see if the items need to be banned. Tell them to stay in the spirit of the game instead of trying to break the game or win the game. It is a social game. You should have fun with others at your table, not feel the need to control the table through some cheesy mechanic taken advantage of.

Dark Archive ****

3 people marked this as a favorite.

I'm calling that an official Message-board clarification.

I can now say don't be a jerk is binding PFS rule :P Printing this...

Shadow Lodge *

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion Subscriber
David Metcalfe wrote:

How does this fit in with something like:

1. Robe of Bones
2. Golem Manual

I already have one or two players who are plotting devious things with this ruling...

Robe of Bones shouldn't allow you to keep any undead it creates, since as I understand it anything you use to control it would end at the end of the scenario and it doesn't start out under your control.

****

I have a character that was already planning to buy a Robe of Infinite Twine. Now it's even better.

***

AHA my master plan of cornering the twine market with my Profession:Twine Seller skill is complete!

Dark Archive ****

Dylos wrote:
David Metcalfe wrote:

How does this fit in with something like:

1. Robe of Bones
2. Golem Manual

I already have one or two players who are plotting devious things with this ruling...

Robe of Bones shouldn't allow you to keep any undead it creates, since as I understand it anything you use to control it would end at the end of the scenario and it doesn't start out under your control.

Who cares, I keep it in a Portable hole. Not the point.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / General Discussion / PFSOP regarding items that create other items All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.