Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Raktavarna Familiar and Magus


Rules Questions

Cheliax

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Maps, Modules Subscriber

If a magus through the Familiar arcana and Improved Familiar feat gained a raktavarna rakshasha familiar, when the raktavarna takes the form of a weapon, could the magus use arcane pool to enhance the raktavarna/weapon?

If the answer is yes, the bonuses would obviously not apply to anything if the raktavarna resumed its native form, yes?

If this would work, the statement "my familiar is +1 keen" is rather.... amusing...

This is generalizable to a question about how the Change Shape universal monster ability works when the type is "tiny living object". This applies tomore cases than raktavarna and the magus arcane pool abilities, obviously. Interaction with spells such as weapon of awe or disrupting weapon, or even bless weapon and magic weapon would also seem to be interesting cases.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Raktavarna Revolver?

Cheliax

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Maps, Modules Subscriber
blackbloodtroll wrote:
Raktavarna Revolver?

Seems a bit outside the normal choices for a raktavarna's change shape, but possible. I was thinking more like "hey, it can decide to be a rapier or a scimitar or a pick or a light mace as an action, and is a smart language-using familiar..."


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

There are one-handed firearms.

The main question is: Is it treated as said object/weapon for purposes of feats, spell, and effects?

Cheliax

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Maps, Modules Subscriber

Yep, that's the core question. The simple answer being "no" so that you don't have to deal with weirdness like what happens when it takes an action and shifts back, though... The possibilities of yes are pretty amusing, though.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Well, what happens when you try to use a Raktavarna in sword form, as a sword?

Cheliax

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Maps, Modules Subscriber

Yep. "tiny living object" is a little unclear on how the polymorph rules are supposed to be applied.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Will start a new thread addressing the core question.

Cheliax

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Maps, Modules Subscriber
blackbloodtroll wrote:
Will start a new thread addressing the core question.

Moving discussion over to your new thread. I love that Jim's in there holding his head...

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Raktavarna Familiar and Magus All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.