Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Chronicle sheet "timing" and Modules


Pathfinder Society GM Discussion

Shadow Lodge ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

So, I was thinking of running Master of the Fallen Fortress for my local players next week, and an odd thought occurred to me -

A few of the locals have level 1 characters with 1-2 chronicle sheets on them already. Since a module gives 3xp, if they have a level 1 character with 1-2 xp, can they even partake in the module?

My first instinct was "yes" but I wanted to make sure.

Thanks very much!

Cheliax ***** Owner - Enchanted Grounds

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Master of the Fallen Fortress only gives 1 xp. There is a chronicle sheet for it that will illustrate this fact. You can find it here: Additional Reseources Page. On the right hand side of the page is a box titled "Chronicle Sheets." The list is all the modules legal for PFS play.

Master of the Fallen Fortress, We Be Goblins, and Dawn of the Scarlet Sun are all exceptions to the "modules grant 3 xp" due to their all being designed for a four-five hour game instead of a 12-15 hour game, as other modules are written.

Hope that helps.

[Edit] By the way, in the case of a module that does grant 3 xp (say, Crypt of the Everflame), the answer to your question is, indeed, "yes." They don't earn the xp until the module is done being played, so they will go from 2 xp (first level) to 5 xp (second level) at the point they are given the chronicle sheet.

Also, a character who is second level CAN participate in a tier 1 module. A PLAYER may only take a 2nd level character into a tier 1 module once, however. Note that the same player may replay tier 1 modules with 1st level characters as many times as he wants.

Shadow Lodge ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

So apparently I should be more thorough in reading things before I ask questions - the Guide to PFS says 3xp for modules, but the chronicle sheet for Fallen Fortress says 1xp, so I guess that's question answered on that specific case.

But in general, if a tier 1 module gives more than 1xp, can a level 1 character with 1-2 chronicles on them already benefit from it fully?

Cheliax ***** Owner - Enchanted Grounds

CanisDirus wrote:

So apparently I should be more thorough in reading things before I ask questions - the Guide to PFS says 3xp for modules, but the chronicle sheet for Fallen Fortress says 1xp, so I guess that's question answered on that specific case.

But in general, if a tier 1 module gives more than 1xp, can a level 1 character with 1-2 chronicles on them already benefit from it fully?

You ninja'd my edit, but the answer is up there.

Shadow Lodge ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I'm normally a pirate rather than a ninja, so yea sorry about that - I posted my reply before I even saw your initial post, much less your edit.

Drogon wrote:


Also, a character who is second level CAN participate in a tier 1 module. A PLAYER may only take a 2nd level character into a tier 1 module once, however. Note that the same player may replay tier 1 modules with 1st level characters as many times as he wants.

I just want to make sure I have this right - so even though, still using Master of the Fallen Fortress as an example - say I run that, are you saying that even though the module says "an adventure for level 1 characters" I could apply the chronicle sheet to a level 2 character? (none of the players who are looking to game with me this weekend have level 2s so mine is the only example I can give heh).

Thanks again.

Qadira ***** RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

Also, "Master of the Fallen Fortress" has a special rule: in Pathfinder Society, it has to be the very first adventure a character plays.

Andoran ***

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game, Companion, Modules Subscriber
Chris Mortika wrote:
Also, "Master of the Fallen Fortress" has a special rule: in Pathfinder Society, it has to be the very first adventure a character plays.

Chris,

I don't think it applies, anymore, since MotFF now gives out 1 PP.

Also, the rule keeps disappearing on me. Is it in the MotFF rules, the FAQ, or the GtPFSOP?

Marty

Cheliax ***** Owner - Enchanted Grounds

1 person marked this as a favorite.
CanisDirus wrote:
I just want to make sure I have this right - so even though, still using Master of the Fallen Fortress as an example - say I run that, are you saying that even though the module says "an adventure for level 1 characters" I could apply the chronicle sheet to a level 2 character?

Exactly once, yes.

Somewhere in the guide it defines what "Level 1" means. That definition includes statements to the effect that "Level x" for modules is playable by a character within one level of the module's level. So, a 5th level module becomes "Tier 4-6." This makes MotFF, Crypt of the Everflame, etc. "Tier 1-2." You may play one character through the appropriate tier one time for credit (a chronicle sheet).

The special rule is the "replay rule." If you play a 1st level module with a 1st level character, you may replay the module as many times as you like and earn a chronicle sheet each time.

So, extrapolating all that means you could play a 2nd level character through MotFF one time. You could then return to that module multiple times, so long as you always use a 1st level character to do so. Likewise, if you first play it with a 1st level characters a few times, then decide to bring along a 2nd level character one day, you'll get credit for that character. You can forevermore ONLY be able to play that module with 1st level characters after that day.

Chris Mortika wrote:
Also, "Master of the Fallen Fortress" has a special rule: in Pathfinder Society, it has to be the very first adventure a character plays.

This is no longer the case. While the story is weird if it is NOT the 1st chronicle for your character, the module got folded into the regular rules for the sake of simplicity. Doesn't mean you can't simply drop that awkward part of the story where you get inducted into the Society after you already are a part of the Society.

The thread discussing this is out there, somewhere.

[Edited for clarity]

Shadow Lodge ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Thanks tons for the input, I think I've got it now!

Shadow Lodge ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Sorry for casting Raise Thread on this, but I just felt the need to double-check something so I don't mess it up.

Looking at the chronicle sheets, I can see that We Be Goblins is Tier 1-2, but Master of the Fallen Fortress says Tier 1 - does that one mean it's for level 1 only, even though the Guide only mentions Tier 1-2 modules (and not Tier 1 by-name)? I'm thinking "yes, level 1 only" but I want to check to be sure.

Also, a related question on We Be Goblins - for the boon listed, is that a one-time thing, or is that a permanent bonus? The chronicle sheet doesn't specify and I don't want to tell my players the wrong thing.

Thanks very much for the help!

Cheliax ***** Owner - Enchanted Grounds

Hm. Not from what I remember the discussion involving. The way that thread went, you *can* take a level 2 through the module.

A better person to ask is Mike Brock. Send him an email. His email is Mike.Brock@paizo.com (he gives it out all the time).

Also, let us know what he says.

Andoran *** Venture-Lieutenant, Washington—Seattle aka The Great Rinaldo!

The listing of "Tier 1" for Fallen Fortress may be a holdover from when it could only be run as the first adventure a character played. Since that restriction was lifted, I believe it is "Tier 1-2" like WBG.

The WBG boon does not say that it has a limitation, so it should be permanent. In my experience all limited boons specifically say how many times you can use them.

Shadow Lodge ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Thanks Drogon - I'll shoot Mike an email on Fallen Fortress.

As for WBG, that seems right to me Rinaldo, so thanks!

Shadow Lodge ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

PS, Rinaldo - say I ran WBG tonight - this means I can't get the boom because it's before Aug 16, right?

Qadira *** Venture-Captain, Texas—Dallas & Ft. Worth aka Thorkull

CanisDirus wrote:
PS, Rinaldo - say I ran WBG tonight - this means I can't get the boom because it's before Aug 16, right?

Correct.

Shadow Lodge ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Thanks!

I still need to email Mike Brock about the Fallen Fortress thing it seems.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / Pathfinder Society GM Discussion / Chronicle sheet "timing" and Modules All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.