Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

That and 5pp will get you a cup of coffee


Pathfinder Society® General Discussion

Grand Lodge

Have your body recovered by 5 PP
a rescue team

What exactly does this get you? Body only? Presumably stripped of gear, or not? GM discretion based on how you died? (i.e. band of gobbies vs. dead on spikes in a pit trap).

Shadow Lodge **

I would assume a TPK where no one survives to bring your body back

****

Assume all the gear is left intact unless the scenario explicitly says the killers will rob the PC(s).

Grand Lodge

Ryan Koetsveld wrote:
I would assume a TPK where no one survives to bring your body back

Sure, unless you were such a tool at the table that your party just left your character for dead and you had to find another ride home.

RAW it looks like you ONLY get a body back. I was just wondering how folks handled stuff like gear.

EDIT: Thanks Mike!

Taldor *****

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Akeela Valerian, the Wolf wrote:

Sure, unless you were such a tool at the table that your party just left your character for dead and you had to find another ride home.

RAW it looks like you ONLY get a body back. I was just wondering how folks handled stuff like gear.

EDIT: Thanks Mike!

But really, if the character is such a tool, do you want him back? Or do you mean that the player was such a tool that the others at the table left his character? :-)

Cheliax *

Plot Suggestion: Sequels for notoriously deadly modules that re-use the same locales by default give "recover Pathfinder corpse(s)" as the Shadow Lodge faction mission.

(Off topic, I know).

*

I would say it includes the body and the recovery of the gear as well (unless it was destroyed for some reason, for example by an ooze). It's quite expensive, 5 PP is at least 1900 gold (per body), so I would expect everything to be retrieved.

Mechanically, the service is there so that PCs can recover from TPKs. It's not meant to be complicated. Before it existed, there was no official way to recover from TPKs and GMs had to adjudicate it on-the-fly.

If the body was recovered without the gear (as you are suggesting), the service would be worthless. In PFS, we're forced to play to our PC level, which assumes we have gear. Having no gear is a downward spiral and would lead to further deaths and TPKs. This gearless PC would be significantly weaker than other PCs of his level, so there would be no point in playing this PC any further.

Grand Lodge

Todd Lower wrote:
Akeela Valerian, the Wolf wrote:

Sure, unless you were such a tool at the table that your party just left your character for dead and you had to find another ride home.

RAW it looks like you ONLY get a body back. I was just wondering how folks handled stuff like gear.

EDIT: Thanks Mike!

But really, if the character is such a tool, do you want him back? Or do you mean that the player was such a tool that the others at the table left his character? :-)

The latter. Tongue firmly planted in cheek. ALthough there was this ten year kid in Living FR one time . . .

Andoran *

Akeela Valerian, the Wolf wrote:
ALthough there was this ten year kid in Living FR one time . . .

"There's the pitch....a high hanging curve ball over the plate....."

Must. Bite. Tongue.

**

UPDATE:
There is now a clarification in the Pathfinder Society FAQ that paying the 5 PP price returns your body and all your equipment.

*

bdk86 wrote:

Plot Suggestion: Sequels for notoriously deadly modules that re-use the same locales by default give "recover Pathfinder corpse(s)" as the Shadow Lodge faction mission.

(Off topic, I know).

Pardon me, Mr. Dalsine, Lord, Sir, but me and my friends would like to explore your closets if we may?

Osirion

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Cards, Companion, Maps, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I think he'd need more than one closet.

"I say, that's a very impressive moat you're having built. What are you using for foundations?"

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / General Discussion / That and 5pp will get you a cup of coffee All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.