Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

GM chronicle, wizards and scrolls...


Pathfinder Society® General Discussion

51 to 69 of 69 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
**** RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32, 2010 Top 8

"If I owned Texas and Hell, I'd live in Hell and rent out Texas." - General Phillip "Little Phil" Sheridan

Grand Lodge ***

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber
TwoWolves wrote:


Fourteen.

56 if it's a four sided church clock and each face is stopped at a different time. Like the big church clock in Morristown, NJ.


But that's not really A clock, so much as four clocks in close proximity.

Qadira ****

ok, now I have an odd one.

During a game this weekend, my wizard recovered a scroll of a spell that is not on the Chronical (several other spells that were, but one that wasn't)... at the tier we played at. I was careful to say at the time that she would copy them to her spell book, so when we got the Chronicals I just noted the spells added. Now for the problem. I notice that the scroll is available at the higher tier... but not at the tier that I played at.

Do I need to buy the scenario and see if it was actually available? and if I do and it isn't ... what then? just line it out (and correct the money spent copieing spells)? or just not worry about it? (which I think would be cheating)?

Andoran ***** Venture-Lieutenant, California—Fresno aka Sarta

If a scroll or a spellbook is listed as present in a scenario and is recovered by the party, it's my understanding that wizards can copy any spells they successfully learn and have the inks and time to copy. For the sake of the game, this is usually handled at the end of a scenario. However, if enough in game time elapses, I could see a wizard possibly wanting to prepare a new spell and they shouldn't be prevented from doing so.

Qadira ****

Will Johnson wrote:
If a scroll or a spellbook is listed as present in a scenario and is recovered by the party, it's my understanding that wizards can copy any spells they successfully learn and have the inks and time to copy. For the sake of the game, this is usually handled at the end of a scenario. However, if enough in game time elapses, I could see a wizard possibly wanting to prepare a new spell and they shouldn't be prevented from doing so.

actually will, this thread was about the fact that a wizard has to scribe the spell during the scenario, PRIOR to getting the Chronical. A scroll recovered during the adventure can be scribed (if there is time, and you can arrange with the Judge not to "finish" the adventure until after you scribe the spell), but if the only access you have for it was on the Chronical, then you have to pay for the scroll (buy it), then add it. I was corrected in the first part of this thread - I had (wrongly) assumed that if it was on the Chronical, a wizard could write it to his book on this chronical without buying it. The correct methiod is for the Wizard to recover the scroll DURING THE GAME, and state that he is scribing it to his book, BEFORE getting the Chronical.

So my question now is about a scroll that we recovered during the game (it was one of 3 scrolls the Judge said we recovered in the middle of the scenario), and I noted as scribed in my "in game" notes, but it does NOT appear on the chronical - at the Tier I was playing (it appears at a higher Tier). My question basicly is: Did I have access to write it to my book? it's not on the Chronical, and I do not own the scenario to look it up. (and a second related question: Am I cheating by adding it to my PCs spellbook?)

***** Venture-Lieutenant, Georgia—Atlanta aka CRobledo

nosig wrote:
So my question now is about a scroll that we recovered during the game (it was one of 3 scrolls the Judge said we recovered in the middle of the scenario), and I noted as scribed in my "in game" notes, but it does NOT appear on the chronical - at the Tier I was playing (it appears at a higher Tier). My question basicly is: Did I have access to write it to my book? it's not on the Chronical, and I do not own the scenario to look it up. (and a second related question: Am I cheating by adding it to my PCs spellbook?)

If you recovered a scroll during the game, and you wanted to scribe it, you are able to do so. If during the game, you told your GM you were scribing it and paid the time/money to do so, and both of you just forgot to add it to the "conditions gained" section of the chronicle, you should be ok to just add it in. Worst case scenario, if you have access to the GM that you played with, you could write it in next time you see him and ask him to write his initials.

You do not need to have the scroll appear in the chronicle's item list to be allowed to scribe it into your book AS LONG AS you did indeed find it in the scenario itself, and made sure to do the required steps to scribe it (pay the cost, take the time, tell your GM).

****

Lots of scrolls that get found aren't noted on the chronicles. It's still fine to copy it to your spell book during the scenario, as you did. It basically comes down to a question of whether the PC ever held the scroll in their hand during the scenario. If yes, go ahead and copy it.

***** Venture-Captain, Massachusetts—Boston aka Harley Quinn X

Not every scroll you find will appear on the Chronicle sheet. Some early scenarios have made me scratch my head for having tons of scrolls and items for the party to use during the mission and only a cheap, always-available potion on the chronicle sheet. If your party found it during the mission, you can copy it into your book. If you would like to PM me the spell in question, scenario, and tier, I can check it out and verify that the scroll appears in the adventure at the appropriate tier somewhere if you'd like, to help assuage your concerns.

Qadira ****

David Montgomery wrote:
Not every scroll you find will appear on the Chronicle sheet. If your party found it during the mission, you can copy it into your book. If you would like to PM me the spell in question, scenario, and tier, I can check it out and verify that the scroll appears in the adventure at the appropriate tier somewhere if you'd like.

THanks David! I'll PM you as soon as I finish this.

***** Venture-Lieutenant, Georgia—Atlanta aka CRobledo

David Montgomery wrote:
If your party found it during the mission, you can copy it into your book.

Just a disclaimer: as long as you didnt use the scroll before you copied it :P

Qadira ****

CRobledo wrote:
David Montgomery wrote:
If your party found it during the mission, you can copy it into your book.
Just a disclaimer: as long as you didnt use the scroll before you copied it :P

LOL! not a problem. Not sure if my 3rd level caster could even have got the 5th level spell to work... and there was never a chance in the scenarion anyway.

*

The DC for activating scrolls above your level is actually pretty low. Buying a scroll of Summon Monster IV with PA makes for an impressive get-out-of-jail-free card at low levels and if you don't use it you can scribe it.

Qadira ****

buying a 5th level spell on a scroll is over a thousand GP... a bit rich for me to spend on a one shot item. Esp. one that I have a 30% chance of failing to cast.

PC-CL 3, Scroll CL 9, so I roll and add 3 and need to get a 9, so I fail on a 1 thru 6...

***** Venture-Lieutenant, Georgia—Atlanta aka CRobledo

Well, you don't consume the scroll when you fail to cast it :D

And Take Boat was saying Summon Monster IV, which a scroll is 700gp, which is purchasable with 2 PP.

I have seen some people do the same with a Potion of Fly (750gp or 2PP, also a life-saver, and can't fail)


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Was looking for an answer to a different question, but this thread brought up a new one for me. I just ran my first Organized Play scenario with an NPC wizard to flush out the group to 4 players. Whether I played this wizard or not, I know as a GM I can get credit for it (XP, PP, GP). My question is this, the rule is that GM credit characters have to purchase the scroll to learn the spell, but since this character actually played the scenario does one still have to abide by this rule or can they learn spells from scrolls during the scenario?

Qadira ****

wgahnagl wrote:
Was looking for an answer to a different question, but this thread brought up a new one for me. I just ran my first Organized Play scenario with an NPC wizard to flush out the group to 4 players. Whether I played this wizard or not, I know as a GM I can get credit for it (XP, PP, GP). My question is this, the rule is that GM credit characters have to purchase the scroll to learn the spell, but since this character actually played the scenario does one still have to abide by this rule or can they learn spells from scrolls during the scenario?

I'm sure I'll be ninja'd but here goes:

the Judge credit that you assign to your character is actually not related to the Iconic Filler character you had in the game. You still can't add the spells recovered as scrolls during the game. Sorry!


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Quote:

I'm sure I'll be ninja'd but here goes:

the Judge credit that you assign to your character is actually not related to the Iconic Filler character you had in the game. You still can't add the spells recovered as scrolls during the game. Sorry!

I thought that might be the answer. One suspects he will have to spend most of his gold on getting scrolls. Though I hope to play him at GenCon.

Of course, if I can sucker another player into my campaign - it will be a moot point anyways. Needed a character to get up to 4.

Qadira ****

if you get to St. Louis, drop me a line. We can see about setting up a game and we'll play together - you can get a peek at my Rogue spellbook... that should keep you happy for a while. or see about what you can turn up at Gencon... should be some other wizards there!

51 to 69 of 69 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / General Discussion / GM chronicle, wizards and scrolls... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.