Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Windy Escape


Rules Questions


I believe this spell would need to be cast before the player knows whether or not the attack would normally have hit. Do you all agree?

Thanks!

Windy Escape
Level: 1
School: Transmutation [air]
Components: V,S
Casting Time: 1 immediate action
Range: Personal
Target: You
Duration: Instantaneous
You respond to an attack by briefly becoming vaporous and insubstantial, allowing the attack to pass harmlessly through you. You gain DR 10/magic against this attack and are immune to any poison, sneak attacks, or critical hit effect from that attack.

You cannot use windy escape against an attack of opportunity you provoked by casting a spell, using a spell-like ability, or using any other magical ability that provokes an attack of opportunity whenused.

Appears In: Advanced Race Guide

Silver Crusade

I see nothing in the description of immediate actions to say this--they can be used at any time. Generally, a spell/ability will say if you need to use it before knowing the result.

At the same time though, what you say is logical. You shouldn't be able to avoid the attack after it has hit you. By a raw reading of the text though, you can.

Sovereign Court

Well as a first level spell that's a nice defensive spell.

Let's look at it.

The must be aware of the attack to use this spell. If your flat-footed either from not having acted in combat yet or the attacking being invisible (or some other effect,) this spell can't help. You also only get one swift/immediate action per round, so its important to remember that.

Now for outside of those situations it looks like the answer is no. Nothing about an immediate action or the spell in question says anything about being able to interrupt damage. If the attack succeeds, they deal damage. It isn't like in games such as Magic the Gathering where you enter the damage step and resolve the stack. There is no between spot from getting hit to taking damage for it to sneak into.

So you can do it in reaction to being swung at, but not in reaction to being hit. At that point it's too late, at least from what I'm seeing in the combat chapter. You definitely couldn't use this in response to being sneak attacked, crited or poisoned. Which is totally fair as it is only a first level spell so there should be limits to its effectiveness.

Silver Crusade

Morgen wrote:
Nothing about an immediate action or the spell in question says anything about being able to interrupt damage

I'll give you that much. There will certainly be people arguing this in sessions because a little line left out of "you can/can't use this ____".

If it came up in my game, I would probably rule that it has to be used before the result of the roll is known.


You respond to an attack by briefly becoming vaporous and insubstantial, allowing the attack to pass harmlessly through you. You gain DR 10/magic against this attack and are immune to any poison, sneak attacks, or critical hit effect from that attack.

You cannot use windy escape against an attack of opportunity you provoked by casting a spell, using a spell-like ability, or using any other magical ability that provokes an attack of opportunity when used.

...with this + a arcane bonded item I could do so once...or more if preppared of course u cannot use it vs anytime you used magic, but you could avoid a attack of opp if you used accrobatics, too avoid getting near a opponent, for say a touch attack, that you held,...

Star Voter 2015

No, you find out if it is going to hit you before you cast it.

Sczarni

Given that there are other abilities in the game that redirect attacks after they've already been determined to hit one's AC (like deflect arrows or that feat that requires Bodyguard as a prerequisite) I don't see why this spell wouldn't be any different.


How many people feel like this spell is WAY over powered? Last night a sorcerer used it against the party and they cried foul pretty loud. The argument for why is that there is no other spell of first level that gives such massive DR. I’m not completely convinced it is over powered… Thoughts?

Dark Archive

Morgen wrote:
You definitely couldn't use this in response to being sneak attacked, crited or poisoned.
Windy_Escape wrote:
You gain DR 10/magic against this attack and are immune to any poison, sneak attacks, or critical hit effect from that attack.

The spell specifically calls out crits, poisons and sneak attacks as things you become immune to. How could that work if it can't be used in response to those things? Why would it specify them like that?

Morgen wrote:
The must be aware of the attack to use this spell.
Morgen wrote:
Nothing about an immediate action or the spell in question says anything about being able to interrupt damage.
Pathfinder_PRD wrote:
Immediate Action: An immediate action is very similar to a swift action, but can be performed at any time—even if it's not your turn.

Nothing about this says you need to be aware of anything. Any time makes it seem like it can interrupt anything it damn well pleases.

Do I think it makes sense that you can respond to an attack you are not aware of? No, that seems kind of mad. But, by RAW, it absolutely can be used after an attack hits, but before damage is rolled.

EDIT : Made a mistake, see my post further down.


Pretty sure you cannot do immediate actions while flat.

As to when you can cast the spell when aware. I cannot say. Looks like when the attack starts. Before you even know if it hit. But wouldnt be too game breaking if its after you know you are hit

The text i would have expected was "after the attack has been confirmed, but before damage is dealt."

Mirror image looks like a much better spell.

Dark Archive

Skull wrote:
Pretty sure you cannot do immediate actions while flat.
Pathfinder_PRD wrote:
You also cannot use an immediate action if you are flat-footed.

You're quite right, my bad. It would not protect you from attacks during the surprise round or before you have acted in the first round of combat. Hence, it would not protect you from sneak attacks if you were flat footed.

However, I still argue, based on the text of the spell, it would protect you from crits, sneak attacks based on flanking/denied a Dexterity bonus to AC but not flat footed, poisons, attacks from invisible creatures, and could be activated after the hit is made, but before damage is rolled. Divine Interference is an example of another ability which interrupts between the hit and damage steps.

Actually, is flat footed being denied a Dex bonus to AC? I know you are denied your Dex bonus to AC when flat footed, but are you flat footed any time you're denied your Dex bonus? I don't think so, but I may be mistaken.

Kntshade wrote:
How many people feel like this spell is WAY over powered?

I definitely think it's a good spell, but not overpowered. It's DR/Magic, so the first level spell Magic Weapon would overcome it. So would any spell damage. It's also instantaneous, so it only applies to the one attack. Any other attacks still work just fine. Finally, it's a Sylph only spell, limiting it further.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

If you are Flat-Footed, then you loose your Dexterity bonus to AC. However, not every situation where you loose Dexterity bonus to AC are you considered Flat-Footed, ex. Blinded condition.

This spell is not too over powered in my opinion.

Just like the ability to deflect a ranged attack with Deflect Arrow or deflect a melee attack with the Crane Style line of feats while fighting defensively, you need to be aware of the attack to use the immediate action AND you do not have to take the immediate action until AFTER you know whether the attack hit or not.

If you want to rule it otherwise, then you may, but that would be a houserule.


There are immediate spells that can be used after an attack misses, such as Gallant Inspiration. I don’t see any reason why this one shouldn’t be usable after an attack hits or crits or whatever.

It’s a pretty cool spell. It negates a solid amount of damage from one attack a round, at the cost of a 1st level spell slot and a swift action. It combines well with other spells that defend against melee attacks regardless of AC, like Mirror Image. Overpowered, though? Naw.

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Sadly, only slyphs can take it. At least in PFS. That limits what would otherwise be an awesome spell to something that can almost never be used.

Liberty's Edge

It is a pretty powerful spell. The bard in my campaign uses it often. I hasn't been game breaking though.

My biggest complaint comes down to the "and are immune to any poison, sneak attacks, or critical hit effect from that attack."

There isn't a clause about this only applying to things that fail to overcome the DR or to not applying to magical weapons.

This spell can be used to cancel out any creature's poison attack, can't it? That's pretty nice for a first level spell. Did the ninja just move up and flank you? Canceled! High level fighter with a falcion? You better believe I am Windy Escaping all over that!

I usually like to make my monster's attack rolls out on the open (I don't use a GM screen). I have to watch the player because if they see a 19 or 20 come up, that would be the best time to windy escape.

To avoid this, I've asked my player to phrase his action when attack as "I am going to Windy Escape the first attack that hits me."

Since he often has mirror image and/or displacement up, I didn't feel it would be fair to make his cast windy escape before knowing if the attack even hit, as most attacks early in the fight don't get through.


I think I'd rule that anyone (not just Slyphs) can use it. As a DM I like the spell, however, I would rule that you have to cast before you know if you are hit or not. This would make it possible for someone to get you to cast it with a feint and waste your spell. If they have improved feint, they could attack you that same round and get their sneak attack damage to stick (if they were a rogue).

Dark Archive

The Sweater Golem wrote:

My biggest complaint comes down to the "and are immune to any poison, sneak attacks, or critical hit effect from that attack."

There isn't a clause about this only applying to things that fail to overcome the DR or to not applying to magical weapons.

Looking at the spell, I see what you're saying. And it's RAW, though I reckon it probably isn't RAI. You could argue that the caster in question is now an insubstantial, vapourous form, and not the physical body that the attack was originally intending to hit. So, for sneak attacks, the vital spot no longer exists, so to speak, hence why sneak attacks don't work. There is no longer a physical body or blood stream to poison, hence the poison element. Crits, I don't know, maybe a reasoning similar to sneak attacks, the lucky hit or soft spot that explains why a crit does so much more damage no longer exists.

The Sweater Golem wrote:
This spell can be used to cancel out any creature's poison attack, can't it? That's pretty nice for a first level spell. Did the ninja just move up and flank you? Canceled! High level fighter with a falcion? You better believe I am Windy Escaping all over that!

In fairness, a high level fighter/ninja has iterative attacks. Creatures usually have multiple natural attacks, claws, bite, tail, etc. Windy Escape only blocks one attack, and you can only take one immediate action per turn, so it can only protect him from one attack per turn. And unless you have a 15 minute adventuring day (in which case any caster will break the system down anyhow) he'll run out of Windy Escapes quick enough if he's using one every turn of combat.


Is this overpowered? Consider:

Windy escape prevents 10 points of damage (assuming the attacker isn't using magic weapons). Or about the same amount of damage as an average cure light wounds cast by a level 5 caster. Cure light wounds is a 1st level spell. So, at low caster levels, it's better than cure light wounds. At high caster levels, it's about even. There's a tactical difference between mitigation and healing, but let's ignore that for now. There's also an advantage to the spell in being an immediate action cast.

Now, the fact that it eliminates poison, crit, and sneak attack pump up its value significantly; but whether this is really true depends on the OP's question.

If you can cast it after an attack has landed, then it is much more worthwhile. If you have to use it before the result of the attack roll is known, then sometimes you will "waste" the casting (because there is a likelihood that the attack would have missed anyway) and then basically, it would have been maybe better to just take the damage and cure it later (you know, only looking at casting slot economy for a moment).

So, bottom line, if you can cast it after the attack lands, it's probably better than cure light wounds (though only really situationally). If you have to cast it before you know the result of the attack roll, it's probably not worth the Internet bandwidth required to read it.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
gg405 wrote:


Now, the fact that it eliminates poison, crit, and sneak attack pump up its value significantly; but whether this is really true depends on the OP's question.

I think that most people point is that it is a spell whose value increase with the level very nicely.

Negating the sneak attack of a 3rd level rogue is a thing, that of a 13th level rogue, at a level at which you have plenty of first level spells, is another.
It become even more powerful against critics. Generally after the first two level a non critical hit isn't a big problem, you need to be hit a few times before they take their toll. A critical is another thing, especially from enemies with attack with high multiples.
Negating that 1 in 20 chance of a big swing in the situation is powerful.

Another factor is that it is way more powerful for spontaneous casters than memorized casters.
A wizard with it will have to devote a slot to the spell, sometime he will need several of them, sometime even one is too much. A sorcerer will learn it and have it always available at his fingertips if he need it. As now spontaneous spellcasters have tons of ways that allow them to add know spells devoting one to this spell pay.

Generally I dislike the spell because it is not well written and it should be limited to the caster of the appropriate race, not available to all people. It is a common problem with the ARG spells. They are thematically linked to the appropriate races, but there are players that want to use them with any race, to the point of playing a Oreads that has learned Windy escape.

Shadow Lodge

I am not sure what had people so freaked out about this spell. It is only really helpful against a single opponent, and a magic weapon or energy attack negates most of the spell's usefulness. Heck, a wizard with Arcane strike will kick your butt if you're wasting too much spell power imitating magic smoke.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Windy Escape All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.